Cassavetes' "Shadows" (1959)

in #film5 years ago (edited)

Our local indie film house put together a great run of Cassavetes movies recently, and I was so thankful to catch Shadows.

Being able to step inside that film, that experience, to have the screen hold me within it for eighteen foot faces in close up, true dark, true focus. It was great.

Shadows Trailer:
https://youtube.com/watch?v=VZx-I0wJ_8s

Long live the big screen and the film house. Long live Cassavetes, perhaps the most important independent filmmaker in American cinema history.

You may enjoy his films or not, perhaps you're split from piece to piece, but you probably won't ever deny the moments he gives us, the raw human moments, the ones you can't look away from, built on with through and regarding love or the question of it.

Cassavetes' IMDb Page (and the only place I've seen that labels this a 1958 film):
https://imdb.com/title/tt0053270/


Be well.
LionSuit.com
(images and words are original.)

Posted using Partiko Android - Earn Partiko Points to redeem for Steem!

Sort:  

Love the work of Cassavetes, since I first discovered it. I am a proud owner of the John Cassavetes Collection DVD box with Shadows, Faces, A Woman Under the Influence, The Killing of a Chinese Bookie and Opening Night. The last three are probably my favourites but I should give Shadows and Faces another watch one of these days.

He surely was an important figure for ( American ) indie cinema and an inspiring for any indie filmmaker ( myself included ).

Unfortunately, I missed out on a chance to see several of his films on the big screen, back in early 2000s when I was studying film. Don't ask me why but I thought his work wasn't my thing without knowing much about it.

Right now, I live in a place without any cinema, let alone an arthouse. Luckily I own a movie projector :>)

P.S. Cassavetes also was an awesome actor. Not just in his own films but also in Rosemary's Baby, to name one of my favorites. I heard he acted in between shoots to finance his own projects.

I think that box set has a documentary as a part if it which is grrreat.
Cheers to taking control of your screenings with a projector, and cheers to Cassavetes taking control of his budgets via acting on other projects, along with his dedication, love, curiosity, and grit.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had to check the cover to be reminded of that fact. There's actually two documentaries on there and I should definitely give them another watch one day soon.

Thanks for the reminder and I hope all is well! :>)

Right on. "A Constant Forge" is the one that comes to mind. Be well.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 39.48% upvote from us for your 7960 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43