County Line Screenplay - Pt. 1 - How a binge viewing of "The Conjuring" series led me to write a TV series.

in #film7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 2.50.21 PM.png
Standing in for the bride and groom at a wedding this past season

For the past year and some change, I've been shooting weddings. Ask any photographer or videographer if they've ever shot a wedding and they'll say "I hate doing those, but they pay the bills". They can be long, 10-15 hour days and are often times repetitive. I find myself "phoning it in" with the same catalog of shots that I've created across the span of tens of weddings.

On October 21st I shot a wedding and expressed my desire to create something narrative to the second shooter. I had made a feature-length film in 2012 called "Milk Mustache" but hadn't done anything of that scope since.

milky.png
Still from Milk Mustache

The day before I was on the tail end of a cold so I found myself burning through the films of "The Conjuring" series. I'm as big a horror film as the next IMDB lovin' guy, but horror isn't my number one preferred genre (I grew up a huge Lord of the Rings fan, so I love getting transported to other, well-thought-out worlds). One thing that struck me was how they each ended on a relatively positive note. The heroes save the day, the color palette warms and the family is happy.

I pitched an idea to the second shooter where the protagonist is a Priest with little faith, and the opening scene is him fleeing what is now essentially a crime scene after an exorcism gone wrong. He liked the idea, thought that was an interesting character to explore and by the end of the wedding we had come up with an outline for the pilot in between drunken best man speeches and catching shots of kids dabbing.

Milk Mustache took me and my old roommate the better part of a year to write. For this project, I challenged myself to write the pilot (45-55 pages) in 2 weeks.

Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 2.37.13 PM.png

To Be Continued.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @knocknoxen! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Pretty cool! Upvoted! I've been in the game, and it is a fun one! Keep going.

Thanks so much. Followed you. Looking forward to your posts.

You already started shooting on this??

Yep! Just started shooting on Friday in Pittsburgh. Going to be shooting bit by bit over the next 3 months.

Congratulations @knocknoxen, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 9581 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4237.20. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Good luck! Are you going to shoot it yourself?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43