Open Letter to filmmaker David LynchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film6 years ago

Sir,

I am extremely humbled by this act of absolute love by the universe, which beautifully caused a series of events, orchestrating the path of my letter to you.

Thank you for that.

There are good and bad filmmakers, even great ones. But, probably once in a generation, comes a filmmaker that changes the very definition of what it means to be a storyteller.

You Mr Lynch, have been that filmmaker for me. You caused a shift in me. I went from reacting to feeling. I still remember the first time I saw Mulholland Drive. When you ended with a vapor wave scene (accompanied by Angelo's beautiful music) juxtaposing Betty and Rita with the city. I think that was probably the first time I was transfixed and completely in the moment. What was unraveling before me made me realize the true value of art, and how it can change you. Or when Sheriff Truman sizes up Albert, threatening physical violence. As Albert replied I was again transported to a place in me I never knew existed. You have taken me to different places, often always in a beautifully surprising way.

Thank you so much for that. Your work constantly inspires me to be a better artist. It gives me faith, that there is beautiful work to be done.

I first heard the term universal consciousness when I was 17. Knowing the scientific terminology for consciousness, this concept intrigued me. During my adventures into Vedanta and Bhakti Yoga (the path of love), I stumbled upon your talk on consciousness, creativity and the brain, with particle physicist Dr John Hagelin at the University of Berkeley. It changed my life. This was the first time I heard you speak, apart from films. When you explained the concept of consciousness with the golf ball analogy, was the first time I clearly understood what it really meant, only Intellectually though. Meditating was really difficult at first, but with the help of some very kind people, I slowly got a hold on it or probably just let go. Up until then whatever I had heard you say were just words floating about my head proud and pointless, making itself feel important. But slowly I got to witness your words become experiences for me. It turned out to be the first time I ever experienced boundless infinite love. It has been a beautiful journey. As a line in a Terence Malick film goes, " and love will smile through all things ". It's true.

I am eternally greatful to you for being such an important instrument of positive change in me.

I thank you Mr. Lynch, for bringing love, joy and beauty in my life. Your work with your foundation inspires me to be a better person. Moreover, it gives me faith, that there is a beautiful life to be lived.

I would be greatly honoured if I could have your thoughts on the following queries, as I feel you're the best person to answer them.

  1. " You need contrast and conflict in order to tell a story. Stories need to have dark and light, turmoil. All those things. But that does not mean the filmmaker has to suffer in order to show the suffering. Stories should have the suffering,. Not the people. "

Could you please elaborate on this. I always seem to find my material easily accessible from my suffering and sadness than from my happiness. When I'm happy, I'm just busy being happy. Even if I'm motivated to create work, I find myself struggling for things to write about. Could you help me out by revealing to me on how to find creativity in happiness and love.

  1. " Life finds it's purpose and fulfilment in the expansion of happiness "

Could you please elaborate on this. Stressing on purposes and fulfilment in context to happiness.

  1. As a young (25) filmmaker, slowly getting a grip on how things work in the industry, I find myself turning more into a business like deal maker than an storyteller. I meet so many different kinds of people, everyone with their own agendas (me with mine), Meet 10 clients and have probably 2 or 3 give a go ahead. In such a volatile industry, filled with beautiful faces and fragile ego's, how is one to keep balance between the business side of filmmaking whilst not losing that innocence, which I believe makes me a better storyteller. By extension how does one balance his professional and bliss life. To rephrase it, how do I not let these situations affect my Bliss life.

As much as meeting you would be the absolutely great ( I'd like to have a donut and coffee with you), even if we don't, then as Terrence McKenna says, "I’ll try to be around and about. But if I’m not, then you know that I’m behind your eyelids, and I’ll meet you there".

I'll meet you there, Mr. Lynch.

With Great Respect, humility and Love,

Karan Dhar

P.S. - Super excited for Twin Peaks: The return

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47