Kung Fu Hustle: It's not what you think

in #film6 years ago

This movie was out for a very long time before I ever watched it because I was turned off by the name of the film. This is not your average low-budget martial arts film but rather, one of the best movies I have ever seen. Once again though, this movie is not in English that I am aware of, so you are going to need to read it.

qpJWj6MI6VLRt9bGbJVZtmFvqWw.jpg

The story follows two friends Sing and Bone, who are just kind of low-life con artists who try to intimidate people by pretending to be members of the notorious Axe Gang (bear with me, it sounds dumb I know.) These cons have not often worked out for them but then one day they make the horrible mistake of trying to score free haircuts in the slum that is actually called Pig Sty Alley.

The group of people in Pig Sty Alley including their ruthless landlady is actually one of the main focuses of the film because even though they all appear to be a bunch of poor and feeble inhabitants, they actually are hiding great power in their ranks. The landlady is one of the best characters in the film and even through translation, is extremely funny.

kung-fu-hustle-3.jpg

This is a Hong Kong film and appears to have had a massive budget because the special effects are extremely well-done. It is estimated that over 2/3 of the time spent on the film was spent choreographing and filming the fight sequences, which incorporate incredibly complicated wire work (I don't know what else to call it, think Crouching Tiger, or the Matrix.)

The fight scenes are a major draw to the movie, but the combination of great characters, a good story, and seriously funny situations make this a film that stays entertaining the whole way through. The transformation of Sing (played by Stephen Chow) from low-life loser to respectable hero throughout the movie is actually quite touching as well.
kungfuhustle_stills06.jpg
before, when he was trying to rip off the village

kung_fu_hustle_a.jpg
and after, defending the same village
Stephen Chow is a very gifted individual because he not only pulled off a great starring role but he also directed the movie, and helped write and produce it (I'm guessing he was a very busy boy in the early 2000's.)

Again, i don't think the trailer does the movie justice. You'll just have to take my word on this one

It won a ton of awards (in the Hong Kong Film Awards) including Best Picture and is ranked as the 28th best Chinese Language film of all time.

In your mind, is that reason enough to see it?

Sort:  

This movie, I lobe this movie
This movie I can never forget
The tricks there, the production
Everything I love about this movie

I've seen that movie too! Like you said, its totally great. I didn't remember about it, now you made me want to watch it again!

yes!! you are right. it is a great movi.I also love this movi and seen a lot of times.

I've watched this movie and become my favorite after the movie "Shaolin Soccer" I agree with your reason why this movie is worth watching. Character characters in this film contains many moral messages for life.

I think you'll like Shaolin Soccer played by Stephen Chow

Oww man!! Kung-fu hustle. Man, who hasn't seen this movie. This movie was action packed and hilarious that I watched over thirty-times. (I'm not exaggerating). My favorite character wasn't the main protagonist tho, It was the landlady with that loud voice and big boobs. Anyone who has seen the movie would know who I'm referring to. It is a really great movie, I would recommend anyone who has seen to got watch it now.

Thanks for this review, you've inspired me to watch it!

I watched this movie about 10 years ago. What attracted me to it were some the cast members from Shaolin Soccer Movie. I wasn't dissapointed, it was a great movie and funny as well

This film reflects different themes such as soccer, kunfu, martial arts and comedy. Excellent movie. His name is SHAOLIN SOCCER

Hello @gooddream this kind of movies my dad loves, and as we had a single tv we had to see everyone what my dad liked jejejeje, sometimes it annoyed us, but this kind of movies were with so much activity and physical contact that We all stayed, glued to the chairs with them and wanting to see more hehehehehe, many memories.
What a pleasure to say hello again.
Good energy. Buena vibra.

I like the climax, villain with toad technique tries to betray anyway surrenders atlast. The landlady with tigerroar techinique. I really loved the movie. Thanks for getting back the memory of such an all time good movie.

More movies in this genre are needed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54