Empty Cinema in Tallinn!

in #film7 years ago (edited)

I am a cinema enthusiast and just thought about creating a new series about my favourite films (for example classics by Kurosawa Akira, Teshigahara Hiroshi, Andrei Tarkovsky and Ingmar Bergman) as well as intelligent and special recent films and series. 

When I started watching German, French and American silent films of the 20s and early 30s 10 years ago, I watched them in very small theatres and sometimes with only 6 other people in the audience. But I didn`t care as I really love art films with complex ideas, philosophical depth (I am a philosopher by profession originally ;), brillant actors and a sophisticated plot. 

Some of you might mostly be interested in and familiar with well-known Hollywood blockbusters. But I hope to introduce you to the realm of cinematic art in this new series with the title Cinema Classics.

"Logan" - Empty Cinema in Tallinn!

Don`t worry. I like cool action, science fiction and fantasy films as well ;) I had a really bad day on 8th of March this year when I stayed in Tallinn, Estonia. A business partner had driven me mad because of his incompetence and arrogance and I really needed some bad splatter action to calm down by fantasizing about bloodshed :D So, I checked out the Cinema in Tallinn and decided that the new "Logan - The Wolverine" would be exactly what I wanted. It was 8pm. But this is what the room looked like right after the beginning of the film :D

As you can see, there were only 4 other people in the entire room :D If you haven`t watched "Logan" yet, check it out and tell me how you like it. It definitely is my favourite "Wolverine" film because we finally get to know an authentic warrior who has nothing to lose instead of the other highly artificial X-Men films where everybody is good looking and where even killing seems to be elegant. Here you see an old Wolverine who is fighting for his life and sacrifies himself for what matters most to him. 

Why am I showing you those pictures to start my series about art films?

Have you ever been in the cinema to watch a great film that you really liked but hardly anybody was there? This weird experience for a blockbuster reminded me of the time 10 years ago when I was an art film fanatic who watched films even when they were 5 hours long, in the Japanese original, with English subtitles and hardly anybody was in the audience :D

So, in my next posts of this new series Cinema Classics I will introduce you to some of the greatest films of all time with my very personal summary, opinion and review. I will share some barely known films with great stories and deep insights into the human condition with you and I hope you will like this new series ;)


If you liked my post and want to read more about the topics mentioned below, please support me by upvoting and following me (@freefuture).

Please send me some feedback and comments so that I can further improve my next articles for you as I am still very new on Steemit ;) Have a great day!

Sort:  

Nice write up! I enjoyed wolverine as well. Looking forward to your movie reviews and hopefully watching some of them. I'll follow you!

Thanks ;) Following you back

Great post , upvoted your post (:

Thank you very much. What is your favourite film? ;)

Hey, @freefuture!

Tallinn seems to have so many perks, haha! Including cinemas all to yourself, basically.

I've been looking more into the city and it's also very beautiful. I'm excited to be going there one day.

Looking forward to your Cinema Classics episodes!

All the best!
Andrew

Yes, I will start with the first episode soon :)

Really great post, thank you so much, upvote your post!

Thank you :) Following you back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77