How I Improved My Scripts 300% After Film SchoolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #film7 years ago

Embryo-dan-harmon-600x364.jpg

I had always been a sucky scriptwriter. I was an excellent director/producer but my short scripts weren’t interesting. After going to film school, graduating, working on some ads and TV projects, I still wasn’t making good films. I had read all the screenwriting books, watched all the interviews, but nothing was happening. I dreaded writing scripts. It was worse reading what I had written.

It wasn’t until a few years later that I found this site from Dan Harmon. the creator of Community, Rick and Morty Etc. It is a series in 6 parts:

http://channel101.wikia.com/wiki/Story_Structure_101:_Super_Basic_Shit

Finally, story structure clicked for me. Dan explained things to me in a way that finally made sense. My scripts became much more interesting. I started writing more. I would guess that my scripts have improved at least 300%. I currently have a bunch of things in the works and am excited to see where they go.

I hope that this site helps you as much as it helped me!

(P.S. I love talking about story structure. Let’s have a discussion in the comments!)

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43