Ben X : Movie Review

in #film7 years ago (edited)

ben_x_ver2.jpg
I put this film on hold for over 3 months. Today I have seen it and I can officially say that I regret postponing the movie. This is not a story about gamers, or the virtual world of gaming as I thought. In fact, it is shown what people with mental, physical, developmental etc. disability has to go through in everyday life. This is an original film made by Nic Balthazar (I didn't know his name till the end of the movie) with a twist-end. It is not so predictable (and I have to say again, foreign films have a lot of unique movies that can surprise me everytime) even if it has the idea of bullying behind it. It is sad that this movie is based on real events that happen everywhere in the world. The society we live in allows us to do almost anything without knowing the real consequences.
Ben is not so different from us except his form of autism. He is actually very intelligent, but the Asperger Syndrome causes social isolation, physical clumsiness, abnormal speech patterns, and limited areas of interest. He escapes everyday life through the online role-playing game Archplay where he meets a girl. As it was said in the movie, online you can be anyone you like. Ben transmits all his emotions online where nobody can laugh of him. The girl he meets even helps him discover that ending your life is a cowards decision and you can do so much more to get revenge when getting bullied. Scenes from the world of online gaming are integrated into the main story making it clear of what Ben would do if he was still in the virtual world but leaves doubts about what is real and what is not.

The ending left me speechless because I was unable to foresee it. The illusion he made blurred all the things he wanted to do (I will not give any major spoilers, I think you should see for yourself). The thing that also surprised me and I think you will be too, is that this is Greg Timmermans's first film. Unlike many actors nowadays that need training and experience, his performance was outstanding and he is so convincing that you forget you are watching a movie. He performed his role like a first-class actor.
This movie is beautiful and touching and you should definitely give it a try. I give this movie a 9/10.

Sort:  

I remember watching it in cinema when it was released. It was indeed a great movie, which doesn't mind making you squirm uncomfortably in your seat.

I am glad that this movie appeared and regret not watching it sooner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43