The Wizard (Blu-ray) Review

in #film6 years ago

For those of you that don't know me, I am an avid Blu-ray collector. I am currently trying to finish the process of getting all of my favorite DVD's on Blu-ray, why you ask? Because the slimmer Blu-ray case allots for more room on my shelves, better watching quality and the discs are harder to scratch and damage. I am almost done but still waiting on some of my favorites to come out. A few weeks ago I picked up the Wizard with Fred Savage and I will give a quick review.

30506_large.jpg

The Wizard is a 1989 Family adventure movie about a boy Corey played by Fred Savage and his younger brother Jimmy played by Luke Edwards who run away so Jimmy isn't put into an institution (due to Jimmy not speaking much). As they travel it turns out Jimmy is a 'wizard' at playing video games. So with the help of a young girl they meet a long the way (Haley played by Jenny Lewis) they head to the video game tournament in California to see if Jimmy can win it all.

Enough about the movie synopsis, the Blu-ray itself is OK. The upgrade to high def and sound quality are excellent. No special features or a proper main menu of any kind pretty much disappoint here. Also no Digital Code included with this movie and the price currently is around $20.

All in all I would advise to wait on purchasing this to see if it drops in price to around $10 or so. The only thing the company producing this blu-ray are banking on are nostalgia for people to buy this. I guess I fell into the trap of nostalgia.

I would give the overall product a 5 out 10. The movie itself however is a solid 8 out of 10 (if you count my nostalgia).

Sort:  

Congratulations @crofman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @crofman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52