You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why did Thor: Ragnarok Blew My Mind – Hidden Internet Memes and Some Musical Analysis (Spoilers inside)

in #film7 years ago (edited)

Thanks, I actually haven't seen the "4D" version and it is hilarious.

I don't agree as to what you term "lack of tonal synching" for a couple of reasons.

  • Each movie with its own atmosphere, and yea you haven't seen previous Thor movies which were a bit more serious but also had their funny moments.
  • To begin with, Thor's seriousness in the Avengers movies is an obvious comic relief in its own right that draws funny moments and lines from ironic earthlings such as Tony Stark.
  • I don't subscribe to the notion of "true Marvel". If you liked the comics better, you can always go back and read it. If you prefer darker superheros/comics/sci-fi movies, you can always watch the up-and-coming DC universe, which displays an obvious darker tone. I Think Thor: Ragnarok brings together everything that was great about the first Avengers movie and the first Guardians of the Galaxy movie, music and funny moments included. This is naturally a commercially proven formula, but in my mind the artistic quality of the piece is on the same magnitude of, say, Logan.
  • I understand this also has a lot to do with the choice of the director for Thor: Ragnarok. I think he has done a great job and hopefully we'll see more of him in the MCU.
  • All in all, the tone is comic but the story is a tragedy: a hero loses his father and homeland and has to kill his sister and fight along side his trecherous brother to save his people...
  • And yes, it is expected that Infinity War will bring about some more seriousness, but still with the Guardians, Spider Man and the new Thor on the ensemble, some amount of comic relief is also expected.
Sort:  

Thanks for your reply. And believe it or not, I hadn't noticed the comic seriousness from the Avengers movies. He is an obvious foil. Fair enough.

I haven't seen Logan and I know it's supposed to be amazing. Can't wait to see it.

Don't think I will watch a DC movie again. They haven't impressed, but I haven't seen Suicide Squad yet.

Glad you enjoyed the Thor 4D!

I wouldn't recommend Suicide Squad if seriousness is what you're after... or at all actually :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55