You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 Films, 100 Countries: In the Mood for Love

in #film7 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite (and most romantic) movies! Awesome! I can still hear the music that plays throughout the movie! Funny how one never tires of it, in fact longs for it to play again!

Do you have the whole list already figured out? I could maybe recommend movies from Russia, since I'm half Russian.

Sort:  

@alexander.alexis You describe the feeling so well of how one feels about that film and song. One of the videos on YouTube of the song loops probably a dozen times. I'm totally okay with hearing it on repeat.

As for your second question, I haven't figured it out for all the countries since some countries have so many choices. I'm definitely open to recommendations. Thanks.

Well these don't satisfy your criterion that the movie must've been made after you were born, but here:

The Cranes Are Flying (1957)

Ivan's Childhood (1962)

After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Russians don't make good movies anymore. Don't know why that is. Something about oppression sparks creativity?! The only recent Russian movie I saw that I enjoyed is Leviathan (2014), but I doubt it will be appreciated as much by someone who doesn't speak Russian and isn't intimately and personally aware of the reality of corruption in Russia.

I'll check out those two films any way even if they don't fit my criteria. I saw Leviathan, I saw the merit in it, but didn't totally get it, so I'm glad to hear it simply fell on my deaf American ears, lol.

Well for example one of its merits was how each and every character spoke in a unique voice. I've never seen anything like that, even in movies that are touted as having that feature. It's like each character was written by a different scriptwriter. Everyone had their own vocabulary, and each was faithful to how that person would talk in real life (the factory worker, the mother, the priest, etc.) Now how do you convey that with subtitles? I was watching it with 2 Russians (my mom and my ex) and each was commenting on how accurately the movie represents Russia. (Bear in mind, though, that that was something like 'redneck Russia', let's say. Like in the U.S., there's a world of difference between cities like Moscow and the 'boondocks'. But still the corruption and morals in the movie were representative of the whole.)

My boyfriend reminded me that the movie The Return (2003) is directed by the same director as Leviathan, Andrey Zvyagintsev. I don't know if you've seen it. I "liked" it as in it depressed me for days.

I've probably seen it, but then I can't really recollect it, so maybe I didn't! Should re-watch it.

Yeah Zvyagintsev doesn't exactly make feel-good movies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55