A DAY IN A LIFE OF A FILIPINO FISHERMAN

in #filipino7 years ago (edited)

3.jpg

It was 7:30 in the morning as I was walking back from the breakwater trail I noticed this lone fisherman with his fishing net and a plastic container on his back making circular runs casting his net in the shallow waters of the beach. I continued to observe his method of fishing. But I thought to myself there was nothing there except tiny silver fish less than a foot long and very few. Still he continued making his circular runs casting his fish net trapping the fish. He did this for more than an hour. When I left his container was still, almost empty. This made me feel so sad. I went back to our resort and told my friend what I saw and ask her WHY? Living in NY for more than half of my life made me naive to the everyday struggles of most Filipinos or at least get the real picture it. Thoughtfully observing this fisherman although I'm never always inquisitive of peoples lives he made me so curious. There's so many things I can do to ease the life of these people but what exactly am I doing.


The fisherman who usually brings fish to my friends' house came a few times but with no catch and according to him this has been happening for days now. This is the reality that most Filipino fisherman faces today. Over-fishing is just one of the threats that affect our ocean and the livelihoods of those small-scale fishermen today. For most of them fishing remains their only means of feeding their growing family. This is their only way of life and it is being threatened.

Visit Secrets to an Amazing Life
Visit My YouTube Channel

Sort:  

Congratulations @sharondelesyabut! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks I'm loving this...

Congratulations @sharondelesyabut! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Gee thanks this is fun...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69