My Figs...

in #figs7 years ago (edited)

Hello again. Some my fig trees was planted in a 100L planter bag and growing very well with mixed soil,organic fertilizer, and rice hull or rice husk with comparison about 1:1:2 and others still using 30 cm polybag. Almost all fig variety I bought from Java island, some I bought at a local seller in aceh. Until now, I have about 40 fig varieties in my yard.

Much of knowledge I got about how to growing figs from local Facebook Group. All members are very kind-hearted to share they experience and knowledge and answer our questions about figs. And I bought a magazine that tells about fig, read lot of article in internet. It is not easy to planting fig, but also is not too difficult, it's depending on how we can learn and try to do it, not just sit and see without intervene.

IMG_20160813_152026.jpgMy Fig Tree

An introduction to figs

Source BBCGoodFood.com

Figs are the fruit of the ficus tree, which is part of the mulberry family (Moraceae). Figs have a unique, sweet taste, soft and chewy texture and are littered with slightly crunchy, edible seeds. Fresh figs are delicate and perishable, so are often dried to preserve. This produces a sweet and nutritious dried fruit that can be enjoyed all year round. There are multiple different varieties of fig, all of which vary widely in colour and texture. Their unique feature is a little bud-like opening called an ostiole at the top that helps the fruit develop. Their natural sweetness meant that, before the days of refined sugars, they were often used as a sweetener.

One of the world’s oldest trees, the fig tree can be traced back to the earliest historical documents and features prominently in the Bible. Figs are native to the Middle East and Mediterranean and were held in such high regard by the Greeks that laws were once created to prevent their export.

IMG_20160918_111640.jpg

In my religion, fig is one of the most important plant. Fig or Tin, is become one Surah in Al Quran at Surah At-Tiin that I've say it always in my prayers. Not only in Islamic religion, you can find fig almost in all religion in the world that say in their books. So, That's why I love to growing fig.

For fig benefits, you can googling your self and find the information. For me, because this tree is writen in my Holly Qur'an, there is no doubt, this is a superb tree, a very special tree, and I believe that.

In next article, I'll share about my fig varieties that I have grow it in my yard. Thanks, and I hope you enjoy it. Stay updated by following me @zikrilhakim

divider-1024.png

Sort:  

Peu na boh lam oen inan

Hahahaha... Le, tapi hana yg masak..

Congratulations @zikrilhakim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Amazing.. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89