Fight Club WAS the Beginning - Fan Art for a Book and Film That Deserves All the Attention

in #fightclub7 years ago

First - For Those That Aren't Familiar...

Fight Club is a book written by one of my favorite writers, Chuck Palahniuk. It was then turned into a movie with Edward Norton and Brad Pitt. It is one of those few times where I can say I enjoyed watching as much as I did reading.

I would tell you more, but then... well... No, I can't say more. Rule number one is, you don't talk about Fight Club. Rule number 2 is the same. It's pretty clear.

No Talking.

I read the book at the recommendation of my best friend. She thought I would like it. At the time, I was newly married and wanting to do things just so. That being said, she knew me better than I knew myself. The book was full of rage and hatred, in a way that made it palatable... in a way that the leftover grunge from the 90s left most of us feeling.

Then the movie came out and it showed the book in a way that I really hadn't anticipated. It was a film filled with pretty people but it was still raw and edgy. It represented the anger inside a lot of my generation, the need to destroy something beautiful simply because we could. For a woman that was fond of Ikea (I still am, sue me) it was a funny movie to watch and have many of those impulse shopping mindsets destroyed.

The moral of the story, for me, at the time was... You're angry but you're not alone.

This was still the 90s though and none of us had any idea how much worse it would get. What I find ironic is, while rewatching the movie not too long ago with my boyfriend, Palahniuk's message was poignant as ever. So much has happened since the release of this book and film, and yet it still speaks to the core.

Since I'm not allowed to talk about Fight Club, I thought that instead, I would share some art. The resulting pieces are just a few of the fan art that I have made. I am not one normally for fan art, but for some reason when I am lacking in inspiration Fight Club always has a scene or something that I can spend time drawing.

warning meme done.png

If you missed the warning, this message (along of many Easter Eggs) is peppered throughout the film. Don't worry, I left the most famous one out of here. If you have the dvd and you haven't found the others including...

There's plenty to keep you entertained and give cause for you to pay extra special close attention.

That Message Though...

Beyond Easter Eggs, there are quotes for days. Rewatching, I didn't quite realize how much of my own language, verbiage and mannerisms that I picked up from the film. I guess that is what you get for watching it a million times. Okay, it was probably more like 200, but still.

fight club drawn art.jpg

_Note: When he says, "You're too fucking blonde!" that's a young and nearly unknown Jared Leto trying to join himself some Project Mayhem.

Marla Singer

Moving on to art though, Marla is my favorite. Teenaged me's hero. My mama would be so proud.

marla collage.PNG

It's Not All About Hate

At the end of the day, Fight Club is a Love Story. One of the greatest love stories. With that in mind, I decided to make the final scene. It's actually my best friend's birthday today. She's not on Steem (I'm working on it) or I would tag her. This was a work of love done in charcoal pen. I haven't used this since the late 90s, about the same time she introduced me to this madness.

smokes and drawing.jpg

Sort of a tribute to her influence and herself. I can say that I I am pretty proud of of this one. I like how it came out. I posted it for her on FaceBook this morning, but now I am pleased to share it all with you.



fc final.jpg



Thank you for reading :)


One Last Thing!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY CEDAR! <3

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RumDancer <3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @rumdancer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64259.11
ETH 3172.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56