50 words story contest -week #24 - Smoking Trap - (My own story)

in #fiftywords7 years ago

Hi,
With a recent post by @literature-trail I got to know about this 50 words contest. This is my 1st entry into the contest.

This is my real story about my addiction with cigarette smoking.

Smoking Trap

Whenever I would do something mischievous, my mother would scold me angrily 'Be a human.' Once in my childhood, she asked me if I would ever smoke in life, I promised her that I would never. It was broken when it started in with few cigarettes a day in the last years of college, and then increased to a pack a day when I started my job in hydro project. Night shifts inside the hydro tunnels were boring, and I wouldn't know when the pack would finish.
Then something miraculous happened, I started to read books on meditation. Meditation made me realise that smoking was bad, and that it was nothing more than a nicotine addiction. Trap was created by the society. Within one year I was determined to quit smoking. One book that helped me more than the others was the Allen Carr's 'Easyway to stop smoking.' Now it has been more than 3 years since I last smoked a cigarette. I have the guilt of breaking the promise, but definitely meditation made me a better human.

Thanks for reading.

P.S. : If you smoke, I promise you that you can quit smoking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31