"The Sneaker Wave" - Fifty Word Story

in #fiftywords7 years ago

My entry for the Fifty Words Stories, Theme: Wave


This is a true story based on something that happened to me this last weekend while visiting the Oregon Coast.


~ The Sneaker Wave ~

The path wound down to the beach. At the bottom – driftwood and sand. But, not just ordinary sand. Each pebble of sand was a beautifully polished stone. I was scanning them, looking down, not paying attention, when… Whoosh! The wave splashed around me! I was wet up to my knees.  


Thank you for hosting this fun writing challenge, @miniature-tiger!

Sort:  

Can you find gems here?

I know you can find jade and quartz there. Not sure about anything else, or what the other stones are. But there are definitely a lot of green & red stones. Maybe agates? I'll be doing a longer post about this beach soon. :)

Ok, I'll keep watching you.

I love looking for things on beaches. When I was a kid you could search for fossilised sharks' teeth. I never found any. But the ocean always has the potential to surprise you!

Thanks for joining in with #fiftywords @pyrowngs!

I've never found a shark tooth, but I remember finding shark egg sacks back when I was a kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65