Lemon Unicorn Birthday Cake ~ Fifty Word Challenge: Lemon

in #fiftywords6 years ago

Fifty-Word Challenge, Theme: Lemon


“I want a lemon cake.” she said. “I want a fancy cake, with many layers.”

She had been watching a lot of cooking & baking shows.

“I want to help make it!” she added.

After many hours of baking and mixing frosting colors, she had the most amazing birthday cake!


-  ~  -


Interesting how life often throws things at you with corresponding/related themes, like seeing that this week's 50-word challenge theme is "Lemon," after creating the ultimate lemon cake yesterday for my daughter's birthday!

Here's some more photos of the cake. I used a lemon cake mix, put lemon curd between some of the layers, along with mixing lemon juice into some of the buttercream frosting, and adding crushed lemon drop candies to the outside of half the cake. BTW - lemon drops are REALLY tough to crush!! I kept trying to crush them using my rolling pin with the lemon drops inside a ziplock bag, and the lemon drops (sharp edges) kept making holes in the ziplock bags.  I ended up using/wasting many bags by the time I was done. Ugh!!

When your daughter has watched ALL the episodes of the baking competition show "Sugar Rush", as well as "Nailed it", she might insist on doing marbled cake with lots of color! (inside the cake)

Happy Birthday, Skyylar!!

Sort:  

What a delicious story! And a very Happy Birthday to Skyylar!

That is a wonderful coincidence indeed, @pyrowngs. Thank you for sharing the backstory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54