Feast Is Over. A Fifty-Word Story for @Jayna

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

The cover page from a reprint of the British penny dreadful series Varney the Vampire (1845) - Image in the Public Domain

I was glancing over penny dreadfuls and news from Victorian times, trying to find inspiration to write one of my own. Then I remembered I had not written my entry for @jayna’s 50-Word Challenge, which prompt word of the week was “feast.” I decided to write it in verse.

This challenge is also a workshop. Authors provide insights on the making of their stories, backstories and more. It is really an interesting and amusing learning and creative experience. Click here to check it out.


Feast Is Over

                                     The feast of blood has been left behind.

                                     The beast and the teeth, finally hidden.

                                     Of all pleasures in this life forbidden,

                                     mine was certainly one of a kind.

                                     Old age, dear friends, meets even vampires.

                                     (So now I lay down, as if dead...)

                                     stiff and avid in finest attires.

About the Making of This 50-Word Story in Verse

There is not much to say about this. There are two stanzas; verses are rhymed and follow ABBA CDC rhyme scheme. Being the lines of five feet each (iambic pentameter), I had to be careful about word count, so I had to break its iambic rhythm in the last line to make the previous line sound longer than it really was: it is only four feet (iambic tetrameter), as a fifth foot would have made two extra words I could not afford. The result? Well, the rhythm turns slower at the end, which is good, I think, for the story becomes more serious and pathetic towards the end.

The image that inspired me was this picture: an old vampire who has become too weak (or tired of immortality) to go hunting; he is in his coffin, in what seems an eternal retreat.


Thanks for reading.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://marlyncabrera.timeets.com/2018/11/23/feast-a-fifty-word-story-for-jayna/


Soy compañera de viaje en


Logo diseñado por @octocel

Y miembro de @talentclub.


Imagen diseñada por @wilins

En @EquipoCardumen te invitamos a seguir de cerca el trabajo de @talentclub, @helpie, @reveur y @bebeth, comunidades que trabajan duro por llevar adelante la plataforma.

Visita @provenezuela y conoce más de su proyecto #ProConocimiento.

Haz click aquí para ingresar al servidor de #SteemitSchool en Discord, donde encontrarás la oportunidad de formarte como usuario exitoso en Steemit y de conocer gente maravillosa e interactuar en inglés, español y otras lenguas.

                        

Sort:  

Nicely done, @marlyncabrera! And thank you for the poetry lesson. I studied poetry so long ago that I have forgotten everything. I have no gift for it, so I rarely try. I can see from your poem that it can be a good storytelling method!

I've been having fun in this challenge, and I've learned some valuable tips, too. I felt like doing something different; however, it would've been nicer to have the all the lines in iambic pentameter.

Thank you, @jayna ♥☻

Hey, @marlyncabrera!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official blog or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Additional comment: You answered the #fiftywords crowd call and we love your poetry. Well done! Great cover page btw :-D

Best regards
@hidden84

Thanks for the support and motivation, @crowdmind ☻ I haven't heard about you before; I've checked your profile and @hidden84's--thanks for your consideration, by the way ♥--and now I'm learning about crowdsourcing (which may not be a new term, as you say in your article, but is new to me). Thank you very much!

I've voted for your witness with much pleasure, and I hope many good users can benefit from your support. Success! ☻

Thank you so much! And if you ever want to chat about crowdsourcing or anything, feel free to join us on our Discord :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83