You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Ancient Ritual (#fiftywords)

in #fiftywords6 years ago

We all assume that the fear of death was less present in the tribes of the past. Your story makes me thinking of the aspect of "surviving instinct". In order to give myself as a sacrifice to the volcano I would have to overcome my instinct to die. This is probably the reason why substance altering plants were used to silence the instinct and to die without fear.

Good story, liked it a lot!

Sort:  

I would have to agree with the use of mind-altering plants. It's another thing I include in my ritualistic writings, usually, but I didn't think of it here; it's a good point!

Thank you so much for reading! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28