Parting, a story in 50 words

in #fiftywords6 years ago

IMG_20180930_201804295 (1) (3).jpg

'You’ll be sorry' he shouted as, suitcase in hand, he walked out the door slamming it hard behind him. And suddenly, feeling as if an enormous weight had been lifted off her chest allowing her to breathe again, Deb was sorry, sorry that she hadn’t thrown him out years ago.

Posted in response to @jayna's 50-word challenge which you can see here
The prompt this week is: IF

The image is my own

Sort:  

ahaha! howdy there deirdyweirdy! man what an uplifting message you have for us today, thank you thank you thank you! Very inspiring indeed that she was finally liberated! another brilliantly executed story!

The only thing that's just a wee bit disappointing is the unoriginal artwork. Yeah I was hoping for a deirdyweirdy original to really give it that extra WOW factor! lol.

Yer a hard man to please Mr J. You cut me to the quick. That's me very own doormat with me very own suitcase;)

I'm impressed with the image but could not make out what it was until I read the comment.

Oh no, say it aint so. Have you tried glasses?

howdy deirdyweirdy! oh that was your suitcase? you getting ready to go somewhere? well it isn't an original drawing from the master's hand but it IS a very artistic piece of camera work then I'll give you that, I have no idea how you did that so it's impressive for camera work! lol.

Oh my dear Mr J, you are soooo full of it!

hahaha! thank you!

The ending made me smile.

My discord account is all screwed up and I can't get it fixed right now so that is why I am contacting you here. First, I am sorry that I can't help to deliver the prompts on Wednesday. My brother has been in and out of the hospital and his wife (my SIL) had surgery yesterday so I am taking care of both. I should be back this weekend.

Secondly, I read that we now have a limit on comments every day? Is that true? If so, how are we supposed to upvote and deliver the prompts? Looking forward to your reply and I am sorry that I am not able to help this week. Hope you are doing well!

Don't give it a second thought my dear partner, sounds like you have more than enough on your plate.
I don't think the resource credit thing will affect anyone unless they have very very little SP but I'll let you know tomorrow how much I use up after I deliver the prompts
All my best wishes to you and yours. My thoughts are with you.

Hey partner! Thanks so much for understanding. I am sure you breezed right through without me. Hopefully I will begin posting again on Tuesday and will be able to help deliver the prompt on Wednesday. Thanks again for everything and hope all is well with you and yours also.

My dad died last Wednesday and not knowing what else to do, I just came home from the hospital and delivered the prompts. Crazy I know but somehow I found comfort in doing something normal.
In case you can't make it tomorrow, no worries. I've started reading the ones that have been posted already so I'll begin at the top if that's ok.

I am so sorry to hear about your Dad and you are in my thoughts and prayers. Loss of a loved one is never easy, especially when it is unexpected. Hugs.

I am good for the prompt delivery and will begin at the bottom. See ya then. Take care of yourself!

Love it! Great use of the prompt, @deirdyweirdy. And the unexpected way in which she feels remorse really rounds out the story. Nice job with the image!

Thanks for the kind words and thanks also for keeping the challenge going.

I love the ending! It ties it together neatly and really relieves the bit of tension in it.

Cheers and thanks a lot for the feedback.

No problemo! That's why I love Steemit :D

Maybe she should be... :D Nice story.

Cheers, delighted to see you back.

Funny how they always feel one can't live without

I guess everyone likes to imagine they're indispensable.
Thanks for reading empress.

Another 50 word masterpiece

Thanks sweetie.

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.597 which ranks you at #5546 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #177.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99