Father, a story in 50 words

in #fiftywords6 years ago

IMG_20180826_195816115 (1).jpg

Everyone in the village loved and respected pastor John as a devout man pure in word and deed, except perhaps his battered wife who wouldn't tell a soul and his daughter into whose bed he would creep in the wee small hours, who thought that was just what daddies did.

Posted in response to @jayna's 50 word challenge which you can see here

Sort:  

haha! oh this one isn't funny sorry..but it's still brilliant deirdyweirdy! and I love it that the classic artwork it back yay! I mean that cross is truly one of a kind!

Hahaha, thanks ......I think.

Well, very appropriate for the current situation, huh? I loved this, the fact that it kinda rhymed although it didn't and that I could hear it in my head.

Thanks hon. Much appreciated.

50 powerful words

Thanks m'dear. I thought I should mark the pope's Irish visit in some small way.

We've gotten wide to them since John Paul II

Yeah, it was good to see that there were a lot of protests in the city and that less than a third of the expected crowd turned up for the Phoenix Park gig.

yeah too right. It's great to see the country getting wide. We really have progressed with the gay rights and the abortion vote and the pubs opening good friday

Indeed we have. You'd almost think it was the 21st century!

Jesus. Just 50 words and I already feel like making Father John pay for what he's done

'Jesus' how very appropriate;)!

As the Pope just said "to hate is human, to forgive is divine". I wonder if anyone booed?

It was gratifying to see that there were over 500,000 tickets available for the main event in the Phoenix Park today but less than 130,000 people turned up, so he was looking out at a very sparse crowd indeed.

You always have a way to make your characters seem real and I end up not liking them...especially this one. So much is being shoved under the rug. Well done at doing what you do best.

Your writing makes me giggle and mine makes you spit. I think we have a good thing going on here;)

Yin and Yang. Yup, that is a good thing. : )

Wow, that is intense, @deirdyweirdy. And topical! I hope with time these issues improve.

Cheers, thanks. As for these issues improving, I wouldn't hold my breath. It seems to me the world is becoming an ever more dangerous place, especially for children.

Heya. I sure am glad I stopped by today. You have a knack for writing shorts that get under my skin.

I'm glad you stopped by too to leave such a sweet comment. Thanks!

Powerful. Disturbing, but powerful. Sad indeed that this is some peoples reality.. There are some sick sick people out there..

Cheers, thanks. Speaking of sick, I went for a cycle in the Phoenix Park today and they're still working on clearing up after the papal nonsense. I'd say it'll be at least another week before it's all done. What a damned waste of all those millions.

Not everyones cup of tea, but there are plenty of people who were glad that he visited and indeed it was probably a life highlight for many of them, I'm thinking of the elderly ladies that go to mass every day - I'm glad it made their day and they got a lovely day out, which they'll always remember. Should the taxpayer have paid for it, no. Should the tax payer pay for so many other things, no, but what can you do, eh...

Money and elderly ladies aside, bringing the entire city to a standstill for a guy who, by his own admission, presides over a gang of child abusers just sticks in my craw.

Fair comments there now, I have to admit... Anyone who does anything against children or the elderly is the worst of the worst and people in positions of power doing it makes it even worse, of that's possible..

Congratulations @deirdyweirdy! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60422.26
ETH 3311.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37