Drown a Hero (#FiftyWords)

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

glassy-iceland-lake-water-reflects-hillside_4460x4460.jpg

Drown a Hero

Charles waved at everyone. They weren’t able to see him but he saw them from above, crying, trying to resuscitate him.

It didn’t matter, he was happy. He was a hero before water filled his lungs.

Peace found him after saving those kids from the overturned bus on the lake.


This is my entry for this week's prompt "Goodbye". If you'd like to participate in the #FiftyWords challenge then go check @Jayna's post! she is the one conducting this initiative. What are you waiting for?!

Honestly, I didn't find much inspiration in this prompt, it was hard for me to find a story to tell. Hope you enjoy it!


Image courtesy of Brodie Vissers at Burst

Sort:  

Wonderful little story. Sad and tragic, yet powerful. I found this through @jayna's highlights. I must have missed it on the list last week. I usually try to visit all/most of the entries which are uploaded via Steemit

And I totally appreciate that you do that, @ablaze! You are a model Fifty Worder and community member.

Thank you :o)

You really think so? I honestly wasn't that proud about the story but I'm glad that the good people of the #FiftyWords community enjoyed it!

Ya, I really think so. It was a great little story, which I enjoyed. Your character died, yes, but he died a hero saving those kids..

You may not have been inspired, but it was a well-done little story that made me appreciate Charles. :)

Yeah, I mean. Charles was a nice guy, we should be more like him. It's just that I wasn't feeling it, you know? Writing-wise :( (sad optimistic face)

Oh, I know exactly what you mean! :) I'm grateful there are so many different challenges here on Steemit, because sometimes the ones you get used to doing just don't inspire you.

You should have a look at the #365daysofwriting challenge - there's a photo prompt every day and you just write whatever comes to mind. Some of mine have turned into poems, fiftyword stories, freewrites, and the rare short story chapter.

You already know #fiftywords and the #freewrite ... do you like haiku? There's a couple of haiku contests/challenges around! There's also a few ongoing short-story contests. #tellastorytome, #finishthestory, #twentyfourhourshortstory ... there were a few more but they're on a break at the moment.

Those are just off the top of my head. :) Just thought I'd let you know about them in case one of them inspires you! Some of them may be contests, but I prefer to think of them as brain-material to actually post something, hehe. Added bonus of possibly winning something! :D

Hello! First I want to apologize for replying so late I'm still getting used to tracking the replies I get. Thanks for letting me know about those brain-materials! Much appreciated.

regarding the Haikus... I know what they are but I haven't tried writing one in spanish so I really don't know how it would turn out in english.

Great job, @deigoam. In a few words there is a great deal of multiple perspectives/panoramic view here. Heroic deeds that end in tragedy are always bitter-sweet

To be honest... I didn't like it that much, I didn't feel that warm sensation of joy after putting the final dot. But I'm glad you enjoyed it!

We were waiting for your post!! The adoption only lasts one week. Take advantage of it!!

Hello! I'm still getting used to tracking the replies. I know I didn't take full advantage of the adoptme week but I wasn't feeling that inspired to write and I don't like posting stuff I don't devote time to. Hope you can understand. I'm still grateful for the community around the creative writing, so, thanks for everything!

No worries. Hope it helped. And for not feeling inspired - that is what we have the daily prompt for :)

Hi @deigoam. Please be sure to add a link to your short story to the contest post. I almost missed it! :-)

This is terrific. Very sad, and very poignant. But really nicely done. It has a dreamlike quality, and is both tragic and happy at the same time.

Hello! I didn't reply with the link because I wasn't so sure about the story I had written. Anyway, it's good to know you liked it! By the way, sorry for replying so late I'm still getting use to tracking comments and replies.

No worries, @deigoam, and I hope you don't me that I found and listed your story. It's not uncommon for people to forget to link their story in the post comments, so I try to remember to check for the tag each week for any stragglers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85