Gone are the Days - A 50 Word Challenge

in #fiftywords6 years ago

So, today's 50 Word Challenge story is personal. It's real and autobiographical. I hope you enjoy.


profile_pic.jpg


Gone are the Days

POP! The knee just gave out and I was lying on the floor. Thudding lances of fire shot through the knee.

I shook my head, chuckling. ‘Well, there go my Basketball playing days I guess.’

Then again, my only plus was great reflexes. I never played on a team anyway.


Thank you for reading my super-short story... all events are my own @OriginalWorks and are autobiographical. I, even now, have ACL damage in both knees (the other knee popped in a touch football game where someone decided to pick me up and throw me to the side).

I hope you can appreciate it.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dbzfan4awhile from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 19.80% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @dbzfan4awhile! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

Ouch!! ACL tears are terrible. Usually they involve an operation. You haven't had surgery on your knees? But... back to fiction. Great use of the "pop" prompt! I knew we would get an interesting variety of interpretations. :-)

Thanks @jayna, it gives me problems to this day (both knees, as in just yesterday my left knee wanted to slide out) so I can't run anymore without risk of popping it again. Never had surgery b/c the doctor said it wasn't needed. Besides, I'm a writer not an athlete, lol. I'm glad you appreciate the circumstance in the story.

hello @dbzfan4awhilw, Well keep trying to play basketball, and heal the knee !!, you can visit my 50 words publication.

That was about 25 years ago. I was out-of-shape back then and never was an athlete. Truly the only thing I have going for me athlete-wise is good reflexes (I can do a bit of juggling).

Oh! That's so bad. But who did you played with? The one who threw you a side is a monster D:

The 1st knee injury (in the story) was a Basketball game in college only b/c the guys needed an extra player. I did have 6 steals though before my knee went out. It was on St. Patrick's Day, b/c afterwards I hopped out of the Gymnasium, up the street to my dorm, up the 3 flights of stairs (where I wrapped it with an Ace Bandage), then down again to make it to the lunch line in time to be one of the first 10 people. Because I was one of the first 10, I got a Lucky Charms mini-basketball (oh the irony that day).

Congratulations @dbzfan4awhile! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73