50 word Story Contest Week #14 - St. Bernard's Little Angels.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiftywords7 years ago (edited)

Boom! They all heard it. The classrooms suddenly became quiet.
What moments ago were sounds of recitation turned to screams
as the deafening noise drew near. Darkness. Teacher groped for her phone.
"Children, don't be afraid." The artificial light illumined their faces. "Help us".
Message sent. They were never found.


Credit


I learned about this contest by browsing around and found mentions and posts about it, I forgot who won the 13th week but she did mention she was about to quit until she won and found a reason to stick with Steem..

The story is just one of many accounts of the tragedy in Southern Leyte, Philippines in February, 2006. St. Bernard was a small town, it had a school that was buried in mud.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_Southern_Leyte_mudslide


@cryptokash

Sort:  

Oh, man, I remember this from a while back. This story works well in any tragic event. Good of you to provide a back story, too. I couldn't imagine being stuck in such a cataclysmic disaster. Nice work, kabayan!

Read and graded. Best of luck!

Hi @Jedau! Thanks for replying. That is a true account. I was there a few months after the tragedy talking with some teachers. They recounted how they still got text messages from their fellow teachers who were trapped in the school which was already buried in the mud.

Any tips on posting under the pinoy-interest groups? It seems a little inactive (?)

Oh man, that's scary. I really couldn't imagine how I would feel if I was trapped there, not knowing if I would survive or not. Good stuff. This actually ranked 4th in the final standings.

Just tag your posts under "filipino" and interact with guys like @surpassinggoogle Filipinos here are currently not that united (IMO, most are pretty much just looking out for themselves) but there are initiatives trying to promote Filipino content, so yeah..

WOW 4th!! I never won anything for writing hehe. Thank you very much, I feel proud of myself. And congrats to the other entries. I read some of them and they blow me away.

I just posted about independence day.. hope our fellow kababayans get to read it too. I will try to promote and create more Fil content.... thinking of various topics which may also interest non-Filipinos.

Veteran tip: Comment on other people's posts. Don't redirect them to your page just yet, but make sure to leave a thoughtful comment about their post. I find that if people find you compelling enough, they would check your account without being prompted and vote or even comment on your posts.

Got it, thanks for the tip!

You're welcome! :) Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41