50 word Story Contest Week #14 - The Life of a Fly

in #fiftywords7 years ago

It started faint, but soon was all I could see.
Closer and closer, I floated towards the light.
Warmth filled my chest, I felt its mercy.
But through it all, something just wasn't right.
A sullen hum,
A flash made me numb,
And the last I heard was - BZZZZZT!


Thanks for another fun challenge @literature-trail
Hope you all enjoy it!

This topic fit in with the beginning of a story I'm going to be writing, so I'm going to go ahead and write a bonus story. Disregard it for the judging, just for fun and a shameless plug!


Crossroads

Marcus felt a sudden pull on his arm, and Anthony's calls cut through the hum like a knife.

"ANT! ANT! HELP! ANT! AAANT!" The pull grew stronger, and stronger. Marcus was lifted off his feet and swallowed by the pale light.

And then the light was gone.


The full chapter can be found here: https://steemit.com/fiction/@crossedsteems/crossroads-chapter-one

Sort:  

When I read the title, I was so excited about what you came up with. Suffice to say, I wasn't disappointed. Powerful depiction, and I really enjoyed the step by step look into it. Writing in the first-person really did wonders for this and overall you did a really great job.

Too bad your bonus story can't be counted, but I feel the qualified entry has a stronger chance. Best of luck! Keep on buzzing :D

This entry has been graded. Good luck!

Thanks. ^_^

And also thank you for taking the time to leave comments on every entry, I (and I'm sure the rest of the contestants) really appreciate the work you're doing.

You're welcome :) It has been my pleasure. This was a great batch to judge, and I'm so lucky to have been given a chance to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18