Beneath the Oak - A Fifty Words Story

in #fiftywords6 years ago

tree-402953_1280.jpg

He was jailed.

She was free.

Their love was boundless.

The years were long and arduous.

The day finally came - the prison gate buzzed - freedom beckoned.

He made his way to the Oak and dug up the box of rendevous instructions.

"Sorry baby"

She was gone.

So was the money.


This was my entry into @jayna's #fiftywords contest. This is a great way to get back into writing, hone your writing skills or just try out writing. We are building a super supportive little community here now under the watchful eye of @jayna. I encourage you to give it a go and be sure to check out as many other stories as you can, leave a comment, upvote them if you like what you have read and support each other :o)

This week's prompt was "money", see @jayna's page for full details.

The picture I used above is not my own and the source is here

Thanks for reading. Hope you're having a great Tuesday wherever you are :o)

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  

Greetings, @ablaze. Great story.
Three may keep a secret if two of them are dead, they say :)
There is no such thing as honor or loyalty among crooks. Some even say that not even among virtuous people. Money is nobody's friend, they also say.

Is this also a poem? Just wondering HAHA

Lots of wisdom in those comments @hlezama, thanks for the ongoing support

But the dude must've keep his money on the bank, I hate him for leaving it on the old OAK tree

This post has received a 5.16 % upvote from @boomerang.

Oh my, this is so sad! But well told, @ablaze. You did really well incorporating interesting characters, a conflict, and a resolution. Nice work!

Thanks @jayna, I find it challenging to squeeze all of that into fifty words, but sometimes I just about manage it :o)

Great story. Well done you.

Thanks a mil deirdy :o)

Excellent! Full movie was going on in my head! And ... oh, this disappointment!

Thanks a mil, sorry the ending disappointing! Hopefully it at least surprised you :o)

HaHa! Not at all. I'd be more surprised if the money would have been there, still. If it would have been otherwise he would not have went for the money, first but meet his beloved one.

I really do like this plot as it leaves room for further imagining. Will he take it sportingly, will he search for her in a humorous way or is it going to be dramatic?

It was a loving disappointment stronger than being in prison. Excellent story @ablaze

Ah, thanks man, much appreciated..

Wow, I love you short story. Like fireworks, line after line to the point plus a great surprise ending.
This is a great story! Thank you very much!

Thanks so much, really kind words from you and all those above make me want to do better with the next prompt... I love the little community that is forming here.. Long may it last..

I really cannot wait until the next prompt. Really love it so much.

I'm imagining the sequel to this - consumed by heartbreak and rage, he dedicates the rest of his life to finding his old love and the lost money... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81