Fifty runs till May by a running turtle: Day 1

in #fiftyrunstillmay7 years ago (edited)

Fifty runs till May #1 by a running turtle

I am really excited to join @theaustrianguy, @wolfje, @toofasteddie and other people around the world who are doing 'Fifty runs till May.' Seeing running posts from them inspired me to try writing on Steemit; so thank you guys!

Well, it is a very cold time in South Korea, so I have taken advantage of running indoor for about a month.
I usually dislike running on treadmill, but last November, I moved to a new job, and they had an indoor gym.

It is nice to just go in there during my lunch time, do the run and some functional body workouts, and get back to work. To take advantage of the gym, I have learned to love running indoor.

So, for my first #fiftyrunstillmay post, I will share two tricks that I use to enjoy running on treadmil and little detail of my run today.

Two tricks to enjoy running indoor

Trick #1: Make use of the incline

Running indoor never felt natural to me. Instead of my feet pushing forward, it was the ground rolling underneath me.
I always felt like my body was orchestrating its movement in a very unnatural way whenver I ran on a treadmill.

But I found out that by increasing the incline of the treadmill, running feels a lot more like running on static ground. My knees don't hurt as much and I land on forefoot more natrually. I even do intervals on treadmill these days, and I can't do these at 0% incline. (I put 1% incline on for the entre time I am on the treadmill)

Trick #2: Vary speed

When I run outside, I love watching people, buildings, trees, things, river, lake, whatever is around me.
But when I run on a treadmill.... well, it's all static and simply boring.

But you can make it more exciting by increasing or decreasing speed every X minute.
For example, I increase speed by 1km/h or decrease speed by 0.5km/h every minute, up until my target max speed.
If I start at 10km/h, I would go up till 13km/h after 3 minutes, and back down to 12km/h after 5 minutes (from the starting), and so on. This really helps me to focus on my running form, breathing, and forget about the fact that I am running on a same spot.

Well, that's it for the tricks, and below is little details of my run today.

Fifty runs till May by a running turtle: Day 1

  • Distance: 6.2km
  • Time: 25min
  • Speed range: Started at 8km/h and went up till 15.3km/h
  • Incline: 1% whole time

After my run, I went into the locker to get my phone to take picture of the 'control board' of the treadmill.
But one of my colleagues was running on the exact treadmill I just ran on, so I just smiled and walked to the pull-up bar.

Tomorrow I will have my phone with me and take a picture of it, just for fun :)

Happy running!

Sung

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 66975.23
ETH 2475.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51