Fifty Runs Till May Report 1: Like being stabbed to the chest

50 Runs Till May.png

After having read @theaustrianguy's challenge of doing 50 runs until May I decided to get on board with the challenge right away. After all I had started running twice per week already just over a month ago. I'm on the quest to improve my stamina over time and lose a bit of weight in the process, and this fits right up that alley!

Want to get fitter as well, and possibly win 100 SBD? Check out the challenge here!

I've just joined the challenge about a week ago, so I've got a bit of catching up to do. I'm gonna have to speed up my usual running schedule of twice per week if I'm going to make it to 50 by May.

Anyway here's my first weekly report:

Screenshot_20171118-231836.png

Above is a screenshot of my first run for the challenge, it's in Dutch but you're probably able to understand the gist of it.

I had originally set out for 8 kilometers, however this was my toughest run so far. Not quite sure why but my ankles started feeling sore after about 1.5-2 kilometers in. As a result I just didn't finish the distance I set out to go, which has been the first time I didn't reach my goal for the run.

You may notice 2 things in the screenshot:

  1. There is quite a big difference between my average speed, and my maximum speed. There's a reason for that, well two actually. My stamina's not the greatest at the moment, so I wouldn't last the entire distance if I ran without stopping in between.

Which leads to:

  1. To counter this I've decided to combine my running routine with some other exercise. I'm currently stopping twice per run to do some pushups and situps. I'd like to add one of two more exercises to this routine to strengthen different muscle groups. If you know some good exercises that can be done outside with no equipment, let me know in the comments. Currently doing two sets of 10 of each per stop, and trying to go for 2 or 3 extra if I feel I have the strength left.

That being said, I still sometimes need to stop for a few seconds to catch my breath. Especially during the sprinting period. And near after a short warm up I stop for a bit to stretch my muscles.

On to the second run:

Screenshot_20171123-233557.png

For this second run I went for 7.5 kilometers this time.

During the run I did 40 pushups as well as 45 situps. Pushups are still pretty tiring, but at least I'm able to finish my sets for now. The first few times I couldn't really get past 8 or 9. Simply couldn't get myself back up. Situps are getting easier it seems.

Didn't have any sores in my ankles this time, so that's definitely a good thing!

However after the 5 kilometers or so I was pretty much out of breath and really had to push myself hard to continue at the pace I'd like to run. Currently trying to keep my runs under an average of 4:30 per kilometer ran. Did reach my goal, although barely, but I'm pretty satisfied as my current record is 4:21 (need that one extra second though, if you know what I mean).

For about the last 700 meters I started sprinting short distances of probably 20-30 meters at a time. Which isn't exactly the most pleasant thing if you're already out of breath. For the last part it felt like I had been stabbed in the chest. In Dutch we call it a "steek" which literally translates to "stab". Besides the feeling I know little of it, and that apparently you've got to keep going nevertheless so yeah.

Not sure what it's called in English, but if you know what causes it and whether it's good or bad for your body, let me know below.

And that's all folks!

Sort:  

Congratulations @maikelmichiels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64316.24
ETH 2748.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65