Malachi and the fidelity to the law: True instruction was in his mouth and nothing false was found on his lips. Malachi 2:6

in #fidelity11 months ago

Malachi was a minor prophet who left us in his book a series of oracles that describe the situation of the Jews after the reconstruction of the second temple of Jerusalem under the Persian domination.
Malachi described or denounced the problem of corruption of the priestly class, like all prophets, he explained the cause of the problem: the loss of fear of God among many leaders. This is how Malachi explained this spiritual truth in one of his oracles: "I will send a curse on you, and I will curse your blessings. Yes, I have already cursed them, because you have not resolved to honor me" Malachi 2:2.
Because the fear of God is the link between the heart of man and God, the fear of God is living the law of Moses with a heart of flesh and not of stone. Without reverential fear, the law of Moses is reduced to a set of masks and appearances, and this is what God rejects.
Then the prophet continued in his oracle, and he explained that if the priests wanted to be blessed and avoid God's rejection, they should follow faithfully the example of the patriarch Levi, who founded the priestly class, this famous patriarch taught with fidelity the true meaning of the law:
"´And you will know that I have sent you this warning so that my covenant with Levi may continue,´ says the LORD Almighty. ´My covenant was with him, a covenant of life and peace, and I gave them to him; this called for reverence and he revered me and stood in awe of my name. True instruction was in his mouth and nothing false was found on his lips. He walked with me in peace and uprighteousness, and turned many from sin" Malachi 2:4-6.
Because for Malachi in his oracle, the task of the priest was fundamental, the priest should not oppress through deception and lies, but rather instruct to build the promise of God:
"For the lips of a priest ought to preserve knowledge, because he is the messenger of the LORD Almighty and people seek instruction from his mouth" Malachi 2:7.
Malachi and the fidelity to the law. True instruction was in his mouth and nothing false was found on his lips. Malachi 2,6.jpg
For more information visit my profile follow the link and download for free my ebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30