Adulthood is a Trap

in #fiction6 years ago

FB_IMG_1497124101105.jpg

I remember when I was just a kid and all I wanted was to grow up, it actually feels just like yesterday and now.... All I want is to be a kid 1s more.
Growing up, I had everything an average kid could ask for.. And most especially, I great family. Hard working mum and a diligent dad, he had a Graceful touch to everything /everyone
I always wanted to make them proud so I worked harder with each step and smarter with each experience. It made me a better person and outstanding in whatever I do.
It's was go good that a got promoted 3 times in 6 months of employment and everything was looking find and bright
Until that that faithful day
As usual, I had two weeks task already planned out and I was working very hard to accomplish it. Seems like I worked too well because I finished it in a week and unfortunately, no other task was assigned to me. In my workaholic nature, I took up an online course to pass time and then I finished 3 weeks class in 3 days and had to wait for a week for them to release the next week lectures
Then I knew the true meaning of boredom and that I truly had nothing I was living for... I was practically existing and not living.. Not friends to hang out with or spend time with, I was far away from my family and I was indeed empty...

Then I started reflecting on my past...and asking questions like
How did I get here...
What happened to me...

Yeah, just few days ago I was a kid, living, loving, and enjoying life... Now I can hardly tell the meaning of those words.

I know we all want a better life... More money, cars, gifts, vacations and all
But don't lost yourself on the quest of finding yourself.

It's funny how I created a trap and named it Adulthood. How can I break free from myself

Sort:  

Why do you feel you're trapped? Because of boredom? Or because you feel you are not free?
What constitutes freedom then?
And what is precisely boredom?

the person feels the responsibility of adulthood is too much

I know. The question is why.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44