Please Come Now - A Screenplay: Part 9

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Please Come Now - Part 1
Please Come Now - Part 2
Please Come Now - Part 3
Please Come Now - Part 4
Please Come Now - Part 5
Please Come Now - Part 6
Please Come Now - Part 7
Please Come Now - Part 8

INT. JACK'S LIVING ROOM - DAY

Boxes and packing tape and MOVING MEN mill about.

The MANAGER sits at the table with Jack, who signs the paperwork in front of him.

JACK
Don't pack anything in the back bedroom, this bathroom here, or the kitchen.

MANAGER
Nothing in the kitchen?

JACK
I'll pull everything out that I want you to pack. I just don't want you taking any of my roommate's stuff.

MANAGER
Ok. If we have any questions we'll let you know.

The Manager picks up the paperwork and heads toward the front door, motioning for his crew to follow.

Terry walks in as they leave.

TERRY
Do you know how many times my naked ass has burrowed into that couch?

JACK
Rachel doesn't have any furniture.

Terry jumps over the back of the couch and lays down.

TERRY
Ok. The first time you two snuggle up on it to watch a movie just think about how often I've jerked off laying right here.

JACK
Asshole.

TERRY
I’ve got good aim, but did I always hit the target? Impossible to tell.

JACK
Keep the couch.

TERRY
You sure you're ok with this?

JACK
We'll get a new one.

TERRY
Moving in with Rachel. Are you ok with it?

JACK
Yeah. You were absolutely right, I don't know why I was so hung up on Rebecca. Rachel is where I need to be.

TERRY
Go figure. You've never listened to a word I've said.

JACK
What are you talking about?

TERRY
Jill, in high school. Lynne, in college. Remember Heather, when we first moved here?

JACK
She was psycho.

TERRY
And you dated her for a year anyway.

JACK
Look, you were right. I'm an idiot. We've established that. But I listened this time.

Jack's phone rings - it's Rachel. He picks it up and walks toward his room.

TERRY
I didn't think you would listen this time.

INT. LINDA AND JACK'S BEDROOM - MORNING

Jack is on one side of the room packing a suitcase.

Linda is on the other side packing her own suitcase, much neater and more precise than Jack.

JACK
I think I got everything out of the bathroom but you'll probably want to double-check.

LINDA
I already did. Did you clean out the closet? We need to leave in 5 minutes.

JACK
Mom your flight leaves in three hours.

LINDA
It's a half hour drive, and then I have to get my tickets, check my bags...

JACK
Ok, ok. I was just hoping Rachel would be able to go with us.

Jack zips up a suitcase, lugs it out the open door and into the hallway, and sets it down next to a few others.

Linda closes her suitcase and brings it to the center of the room toward Jack.

JACK
Mom, you know I'm not good at this kind of thing, but I want to thank you for being here with me these last few months. I couldn't have done this without you. I love you.

LINDA
I love you too Jack. I heard your first words, I saw your first steps, and now I've seen you grow up. You're not my baby anymore.

JACK
I'll always be your baby.

EXT. FISHER HOUSE PARKING LOT - MORNING

Jack loads the last bag into the back of the Ford Explorer and closes the door. In a moment of weariness he sits down on the tailgate and takes a breather.

Linda walks around the side of the car and sees him sitting there.

LINDA
Are you ok?

JACK
I'm fine, just taking a break.

Spying them from across the parking lot, Rachel yells out.

RACHEL
Jack!

Jack smiles as he watches Rachel running toward them.

LINDA
Look at her run. Can't even tell she has a prosthetic.

JACK
I know. She's amazing.

Rachel slows down as she nears the car and gives Jack a peck on the cheek.

RACHEL
I was hoping I'd catch you before you left.

JACK
We are all packed up, hop in.

Rachel goes over to Linda and gives her a hug.

RACHEL
It's been so wonderful getting to know you. I'm sorry you have to leave.

LINDA
(Into Rachel's ear)
It's your turn dear, take care of him.

RACHEL
I will. I promise.

EXT. SAN ANTONIO AIRPORT DEPARTURE DROP OFF - MORNING

Jack pulls Linda's bags out of the car and sets them down on the curb.

Linda hugs Rebecca again then moves on to hug Jack.

JACK
Let me know when you land.

Taking a step back Jack absentmindedly puts his arm around Rebecca and pulls her close.

LINDA
Get out of here you two, before you get a ticket.

RACHEL
Do you need help with your bags?

LINDA
The skycap is right here. I'll be fine. Go.

INT. JACK'S CAR - MORNING

Leaving the airport, Jack negotiates traffic on the highway heading back to the Fisher House.

RACHEL
Did you tell her?

JACK
Did I tell my old school Catholic mother, married a man who wanted to be a priest at one point, that I was going to live with a woman in sin? No.

RACHEL
I think she'd be ok with it. And she's going to find out eventually.

JACK
She will. But from Minnesota the amount of guilt she’s able to trip me with will be significantly lessened.

RACHEL
You're forgetting that she likes me, and I'm pretty amazing.

Rachel leans over and gives him a kiss.

RACHEL
Let's go over to the apartment.

JACK
The furniture isn't coming until tomorrow.

RACHEL
We have some rooms to initiate before it gets here.

Jack immediately flips on his turn signal and exits the highway.

INT. MALL FOOD COURT - AFTERNOON

The food court is weekend busy. HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE sitting down to eat or lining up to order food.

Rebecca sits alone at a table texting on her phone, a half eaten plate of Chinese food in front of her. Two bags sit on the chair next to her, Bed, Bath and Beyond and Victoria's Secret.

Terry walks past her, and in a bad display of acting, stops and tries to figure out who she is.

TERRY
Hey. Rebecca right?

REBECCA
Do I know you?

TERRY
Terry. It was like a year and a half ago, I was Jack's roommate. We met a couple times.

REBECCA
You've changed.

TERRY
I cleaned myself up a little bit. How have you been?

REBECCA
I've been good. How's Jack?

TERRY
A lot better. He's walking again.

Rebecca gasps and brings her hands to her mouth.

REBECCA
What happened?

Terry pulls out the chair opposite Rebecca and sits down.

TERRY
You didn't hear?

REBECCA
No.

TERRY
His truck got blown up in Iraq. He broke his neck, both his legs, massive injuries. He's down in San Antonio. Almost back to normal. Well, not that he was normal to begin with.

Tears form in Rebecca's eyes and one rolls down her cheek.

REBECCA
Oh my God.

TERRY
I don't want to scare you, he almost died but he's fine now. Last time I saw him he asked about you, wondered if I'd seen you.

REBECCA
I...ah...I have to go.

In a rush she pushes her chair back, grabs her bags and pushes her way forcefully through a group of people on her way out of the mall.

Terry looks at the plate of Chinese food, pulls it toward him and eats some of her General T'so's chicken.

EXT. MALL PARKING LOT - AFTERNOON

Rebecca throws her bags into the car and sits down in the driver's seat. She closes the door and begins to cry. Hard.

INT. JACK AND RACHEL'S APARTMENT - AFTERNOON

Jack stands at the front door with a clipboard and a pen. A MOVING MAN enters, Jack notes the number on the box he is carrying, flips a piece of paper over and makes a check mark.

JACK
Kitchen.

The Moving Man nods and walks into the apartment.

Rachel passes him in the living room and approaches Jack.

RACHEL
Almost done?

JACK
Just a few more boxes.

RACHEL
Where's the couch?

Please Come Now - Part 10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29