Connections (Luna 3, Part 9)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Picture
By Georgia Dunn


Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8


It felt like the blood in her veins had instantly turned into ice. The breath of the man behind her was aggravating warm and made the tiny hairs on her neck stand up. You’re a Ceph, echoed his words through Nora-Cephs head. Ceph. He had said Ceph, not Cephi like the whole time before when they had been talking. She couldn’t remember the last time she had heard a human call them Ceph.

Maybe he was one too?

Nora-Ceph turned around, slowly, to look the man in his ice-blue eyes. Did she see a spark of non-human intelligence there? Technically, it shouldn’t be possible to recognize if a human serves as a host, just by looking in their eyes. But maybe …

”You’re not going to find anything”, the man said, ”I am not a Ceph.” There went her hope of this day ending in a pleasant way. She tried to move away from the man, but he was between her and the exit, only leaving the walls with paintings to her sides. And she couldn’t move too close to those without setting off an alarm.

She was trapped.

A part of her expected the man to move in closer, which caused her to mentally prepare to attack him. She didn’t know how to fight and Nora didn’t have any experience either, but if it was a choice between just accepting her death and fighting to avoid it? She’d give everything.

To her surprise, the man made a step back, giving her some breathing space.

”I’m not going to hurt you”, he said. ”Although I’m not sure if you believe me when I say that.”

”You’re right”, Nora-Ceph said, her voice several octaves higher than intended. Annoyed, she cleared her throat. ”You’re right”, she repeated, with her normal voice now. ”I have no reason to trust you.”

The man nodded.

”I still have to insist that you come with me though”, he said. ”So if you would please accompany me? I don’t want to use force, but I will if I have to.” @suesa

What a great way to gain someone’s trust, Nora-Ceph thought to herself. First, tell them you’re not dangerous, then force them to come with you. This human had obviously some issues. But what choice did she have? He had threatened violence, and she didn’t know if he was maybe carrying a weapon. If she’d just go with him, there might be a better time to escape …

”I will come with you, but only because you leave me no other choice”, she told the man.

”I can live with that”, he answered and smiled. Interestingly, the smile didn’t make Nora-Ceph even half as uncomfortable as the smiles Michael had used to give her. She filed that observation under interesting, but not important right now. Then she followed the man out of the museum and into a car.


The drive wasn’t too long, maybe 12 minutes, but they were already on the outskirts of the city. Individual houses had replaced the giant office buildings and community housings. This was the neighborhood of the rich, those who had come to Luna 3 because they wanted to, not because they had to. With every passing moment, Nora-Ceph wondered even more about who it was that had abducted her.

In front of a two-story home with a small lawn in front of it, the car stopped. They go out and walked up to the front door. Nora-Ceph looked around to see if there was a good way to escape, but there was nothing. Absolutely nothing. She wasn’t even 100% sure in which direction she’d need to go to get back to the city.

The man had arrived at the front door and unlocked it, just to turn around to Nora-Ceph and gesture for her to enter.

Never enter a stranger’s home! No matter what they promise you! The memory of Nora’s mother echoed in Nora-Ceph’s head. It wasn’t particularly helpful and only made her more scared. When even humans tell each other to watch out when it comes to strangers, how could a Ceph be safe?

Her feet carried her inside without her even really noticing. And then the door closed behind her.

This was it, Nora-Ceph thought. This was how she was going to die.

Her thoughts wandered to Quelz, who had given his whole body up to spread himself between nine hosts in total. Would he feel it when she died? The connection had technically been separated, but … would the other parts feel the loss of her? Would they miss her? Or would they just forget her?

She stumbled over something and almost hit the floor, hadn’t the man grabbed her arm in time to hold her up. As soon as she regained her balance, she looked back at what had been in her way.

It was a painting.

A painting of a Ceph.

”What … You’re the artist?” Nora-Ceph asked in confusion. Why would a human draw Cephs?

”Me? Oh, no. I told you that the art was drawn by a Ceph. I didn’t lie about that. Would you please follow me into the living room now?”

She did. And almost fell over again, this time out of surprise. In the middle of the living room, sitting comfortably on the couch while reading a book and having a cup of tea was … a Ceph.

Not a human host with a Ceph instead of a brain, not something like her, no. A living, eight armed, healthy-looking Ceph.

When she entered the room, he put down his cup of tea and changed to a friendly shade of a soft reddish-orange.

”Welcome to my home”, he greeted her. ”I’m Pekok.”


The cover art today was created by the wonderful Georgia Dunn, who gave me permission to use it on here! If you want to see more from her, check out her website, buy some prints on Etsy or read her blog and Twitter


stem-update-02-12-18.gif

GIF was created for me by @saywha and @atopy , rest of the signature by @overkillcoin

Sort:  

”You’re right”, Nora-Ceph said, her voice several octaves higher than intended. Annoyed, she cleared her throat. ”You’re right”, she repeated, with her normal voice now. ”I have no reason to trust you.”

It seems logical to me that you know about genetics and biology because I may have judged that your profession revolves around that. But you even refer to tones of sound as if you also know about music. You surprised me twice today.

I'm a biology student who has a very musical mother but can't carry a tune or play an instrument xD

Not a human host with a Ceph instead of a brain, not something like her, no. A living, eight armed, healthy-looking Ceph.

When she entered the room, he put down his cup of tea and changed to a friendly shade of a soft reddish-orange.

”Welcome to my home”, he greeted her. ”I’m Pekok.”

I think my brain just blew up...

”I’m Pekok.” James Pekok.
I think he is something like the godfather. The Cephfader.
Is he going to train her in something?
Ok ok, I'll wait.

I bow to your pens up to this point. You have had my attention for a little over an hour. Great read all through... :)

So we have humungous Ceph now, living large while kidnapping others aided by a human? More... please :)

I have a feeling that you went into a different direction than you initially planned. It's like you wrote based on the picture by Georgia Dunn. I spent about the same time watching it and reading the story.

Why would a human draw Cephs? I asked myself.
Now I know. To give you a story and amaze my mind.

I'd never write because of random inspiration :P All my stories are planned out perfectly before I even start the first part ;)

lol, sure, that's how we all do it ;)

Hmm. I just can't decide how to feel about this human. He keeps surprising me. It seems Nora-Ceph isn't as alarmed as I am, but I really don't like the threat of force. He'd better have a good reason.

Great chapter, @suesa. I love this series.

Best selling AliExpress product in the future: furry, fluffy sweater for the Cephs that makes them more cuddly for humans

Hehehe :D . And in enters Pekok. Lemme guess, Pekok is one very smart ceph, might even be a professor with that intro he gave, of art or literature. The picture used, gives him this sort of "Morgan Freeman introduction to a movie that already has great casts, and what does he do, he exactly lives up to your expectations". Well, i am thinking this Pekok to be an interesting fellow, can't wait for the next read.

I noticed you covered some areas I think i have mentioned, the connections between the cephs now that their brains were seperated. By the way, since the conversion at the offices ran by Micheal, Quellz has been missing. Or you've relegated him to only make fleeting cameos :)

It wasn’t particularly helpful and only made her more scared. When even humans tell each other to watch out when it comes to strangers, how could a Ceph be safe?

Hehe, i can totally relate to this. I was told this by my mum as a kid, like why would a stranger wanna take me? :/

I really enjoyed this piece, i love the introduction of Mr Pekok. Pardon me for using mister, if i was to judge from the picture by Georgia Dunn, he looks like a very excellent mister. Might as well play an instrumental role in the Ceph civilization, i am vouching for his intelligence. :)

Cheers <3

Nice part suesa....i need to go check on the rest

An outstanding new chapter in a great serial! I can hardly wait to learn more about this Big Mystery of a human (perhaps more than one) who knows about human-cephs. And I cannot help wondering if it relates to the other Big Mystery of why Quelz donated every part of self to the human-ceph project after having decided not to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78