Blue Blood (AIOA, Part 2)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture


This is a sequel to the “Lost”-series. Click here to be taken to the last part of it, which contains links to all previous parts.

Read Part 1 of “AIOA”


I crack my knuckles. What should I ask next? It’s hard to think of questions that are only part of a bigger one. It’s almost sad that humanity was able to create something like me, but this information point cube thing is still so basic. Or maybe it was just designed that way to not overwhelm humans with information? That might be more likely.

”Why is my … I mean why is the blood of the first AIOAs blue?” I ask.

”The AIOA blood has certain advantages over human blood. It doesn’t allow diseases to flourish, heals any wound and the later versions can even be used as blood transfusions for humans of every blood group. Originally, it was not possible to recreate functioning red blood cells, they were dying too fast. The hemoglobin molecule is so small, that it couldn’t be allowed to float freely in the artificial bloodstream, as it would leave the vessels and clog up the systems. Instead, hemocyanin, a much larger molecule, was used. The oxygenated form of this respiratory protein turns the blood blue.” Explains the voice.

”Hemocyanin? Isn’t that what horseshoe crabs use?”

”That is correct. Some arthropods and most mollusks use hemocyanin instead of hemoglobin. There is a lot of energy needed to pump this sort of blood because the viscosity is much higher than with hemoglobin. Because of this, newer models have artificially created immortal red blood cells.”

”Who created the first AIOA?” Follows my next question as soon as the voice stops talking.

”This information is classified.”

”What?”

”This information is classified.”

”And who can access it?”

”Only level 1 military personnel have access to this kind of information.”

”Why is it classified?”

”I am sorry, disclosing why something is classified would also mean disclosing a part of the information.”

I can’t believe it, I am so close! But this stupid cube doesn’t want to give me the information I seek.

”I want to know who built the first AIOA! I want to know who built me!”

”I am sorry, this information is classified.”

”Fuck your classified information! Tell me what I want to know!”

I violently punch the wall. Immediately, a red light flashes and a siren starts blaring.

”You tried to damage governmental property. This is an offense punishable by death. Please stand by for the termination of your life.”

The warning I was given before entering the cube comes to my mind again. Oops. Feverishly, I look around, hoping to find an exit. But the walls of the cube are without any sign of a door. I hear a hissing sound.

”What the …” It smells like some kind of gas. They’re trying to kill me with gas. Great. Is that even possible? Can I be killed with gas? As intriguing it is to learn more about what I’m capable of, I don’t want to take the risk that it can kill me, so I need to get out of here. And there seems to be only one way.

I take a few steps back, turn my shoulder towards one of the glass walls, breathe in and start running. As I hit the wall, the glass shatters and tiny shards cut through my clothing and skin. I can feel my blood leaving my body. This looks a lot less painful in movies.

I fall to the ground and need a moment to get up again. Looking down on myself, I notice that I am over and over covered in blue liquid. Blending in might be a bit more difficult now.

In the distance, I can hear sirens coming closer. That might be local law enforcement. I should really leave.

For the last time, I give the cube a yearning look. So much information. All unavailable to me now.

Then I run.


References:

Hemocyanin

Hemocyanins and Invertebrate Evolution


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
Check out @steemstem and the #steemSTEM channel in steemit.chat and consider following the curation trail on Streemian to support scientists on steemit!
Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Well AIOA blood is so viscous that it would result in high blood pressure and stroke. Just kidding @suesa.

When i saw the topic of Blue blood on your post, i thought that was talking about Blue blood in Indonesia. In Indonesia, blue blood means rich people who have assets so much. Lol.. but you are talking some thing different and very useful. Thanks for your post..it

Crabs in my veins? :D

That is the only thing that came to my mind after reading... sorry (but it is late :p )

The moment gas made appearance I would have asked the cube "Can this gas kill AIOA?" Muhaha!

hello suesa, relay your post is very interesting..

Things are getting more and more thrilling here!

this interesting post, you are indeed in choosing a good post and quality. I will always follow you with all the stories and posts.

Interesting post very good thanks!

Very Interesting Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66