Magicae Terra - Episode 1 - Chapter 2

in #fiction6 years ago

Gang of Ghosts.png
Magicae Terra - Episode 1 - Chapter 2
Yes, you read me right—a gang of ghosts, six to be exact. I knew they were ghosts, even though they looked like men, because they were transparent and they hovered above the ground. They floated right in like they owned the place and no one seemed to care; strike, that no one seemed to notice. I had just found the ring and the man and I couldn’t help but stare at them, but all these people milling about talking about flowers and cakes and bridal showers didn’t even twitch when the ghosts began taking jewelry out of cases and shoving it into bags they’d floated in with. Even the jewelry floating in the air didn’t cause a stir. Admittedly, the jewelry side of the store was almost completely bare except for the man and me, but surely ghosts and floating jewelry was enough to catch someone’s eye.
My first logical thought, once my mind wrapped around the fact that ghosts were evidently real, was Ghosts can pick things up? It looked like they could. They cleaned out the store and just floated out the door like they didn’t have a care in the world. As ghosts, though, did they? Have a care in the world, I mean. What ghosts robbed a jewelry store? Was haunting just too cliché for them? Were they hipster ghosts?
I was busy trying to figure out what kind of ghosts would rob a store when the man ran right out the door and after them. He had seen them too! That was good; it’s nice when the man you’ve decided to spend the rest of your life with can share in your delusions. As I was pondering everything we shared, which at the time all I knew about was the delusions bit, I heard the words my ears had been listening for, “Have you seen Amelia?” It was time for me to make my escape.
So I ran after him, because really when given the choice between staying with a group of people you’ve just met and planning the wedding of someone you barely remember, or running after an incredibly gorgeous man chasing after some kind of ghost robbers, you’re obviously going to choose the man.
I caught up to him stopped at a crosswalk, waiting for the light to change. Distracted, he glanced at me and asked, “What are you doing?”
“I’m following you.” Really, wasn’t that obvious? Maybe the man was just looks and no brain. A quick check of his body made that something I could live with.
He took off running again once the light changed and I followed behind him as best I could. My mother had told me I’d regret putting off exercise, and of course she was right. I nearly lost him, but thank goodness for long lights because I caught up at another crosswalk.
“Why are you following me?”
Winded, I was bent over, gasping in great big gulps of air. When I could finally breathe normally, I answered, “Ghosts… Jewelry heist… curious…” Okay, so maybe I wasn’t breathing normally yet.
Before I could elaborate, he was off again. Damn, the man could run. I really think he was letting me follow him, though, because he would be just about to leave me behind and then he’d wait at a corner until I saw him before running on. Anyway, waiting for me or not, I didn’t catch up with him again until he was standing in front of the most haunted house in America.

This was originally published in the book Magicae Terra Episode One. The full story is currently available on Amazon.
The image was created using canva.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11