The Awaiting Darkness

in #fiction6 years ago

Vivian stunner had no idea that this was going to be her last day on earth. She was pushing her way through the sea of summer tourists overflowing the busy sidewalks of the city.
"Don't panic", she told herself, "you must keep calm".
The instant message on her telephone from George had been terrifying. Disappear Vivian! Run! Go to the Newcastle Hotel, you'll be safe there. Wait there until you hear from........ The message had ended suddenly. She wondered why george hadn't finished it. What could be happening? What was going on? She was in total confusion.
The night before, she had heard her husband, George saying to someone on the telephone that Laura must be stopped at all cost. Who was Laura? So many questions running through vivian's mind. Newcastle was a hotel which catered to women only. I will wait for George there and he will explain to me what this is all about, she thought to herself.
When vivian stunner reached the next corner, the traffic light had turned red, and as she stopped, someone in the crowd bumped against her and she stumbled into the street. A limousine that had been double parked suddenly moved towards her, grazing her just hard enough to knock her down. People began to gather around her.
"is she alright?"
Oh my God! Is she okay?155601100.jpg
At that moment, a passing ambulance stopped. Two attendants from the ambulance hurried over and took charge. "we will take care of her". They said.
Vivian found herself being lifted into the ambulance. The door closed and a moment later, the vehicle sped away.
She was stripped to a stretcher, trying to sit up. "I am fine," she protested....."It was nothing....I'm okay...I...."
One of the attendants was leaning over her. "It's alright Vivian ....just relax".
She looked up at him, suddenly alarmed. "How do you know my...?"
Just then, She felt a sharp sting of a hypodermic needle in her arm and a moment later, she gave herself up to the waiting darkness.
She wakes up in an empty room, seated on a chair with both hands tied to the back of the chair.
As she slowly opens her eyes, struggling to regain consciousness, she asks, "where am I? what happened? How did I get....."
Toby interrupts, "Don't worry vivian, as long as you cooperate with me, you're perfectly safe". "Where's your husband?" He asks. Taken aback by the question, vivian answers, "My husband? Why? What happened? Is he okay?"
Don't play games with me vivian, responded Toby.
What games? What are you talking about?
Toby scoffs, "George is planning to stop my wife from activating the device to open a new Earth, after four years of hardwork and total commitment, the code to activating the device was finally broken, Your husband possesses the only weapon to destroy the device and it is contained in a small box and I need to know where the box is".

"What device are you talking about?....Where's my husband?....Please I need to see him.....I don't understand what is going on"....she breaks down into tears.
Toby stares at her in utter incredulity..... "You really have no idea about this?"
"I have no idea, please let me go"...pleaded Vivian.
IMG_20180107_174441.JPG
No..no..no... I can't let you go until I find that small box....until I find your... He was interrupted..
A group of big-bodied men walk into the room with George...
Thank Goodness you're here George!!! Exclaimed vivian.
Toby applauds...."nice...nice...just right on time". I was just questioning your wife here on the whereabouts of the box and it seems to me that she has no idea.
"Whatever we have to do, leave my wife out of this Toby"! said George firmly.
If you give me the box, I'll let you and your wife go, Toby responded.

"please just give him whatever he's asking for George" cried Vivian
"you don't understand baby", replied George, "if I handover the box that contains the only weapon that can destroy the device, he will destroy it and activate the device, millions of lives are going to be lost all in the name of creating a new Earth".

Vivian cries louder..."I understand baby, do what you have to do".

ENOUGH!!! Toby reprimanded.. "tell me where the box is or your wife dies", pointing a gun to Vivian's head. George was caught between saving his wife and saving the world....confused on what to do
Vivian says to him, "whatever happens to me George, don't release the box, save the world, I want you to know that I'll always love you forever and a day more, you do what you have to do".
George breaks down into tears and says to Toby, "I can't give you the box".
Toby angrily pulls the trigger...
For a moment, the world stopped, as George watched his wife give herself up to the waiting darkness.!IMG_20180107_215005.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, you write really well. Get the right audience to follow you, and your content would be well more appreciated. Nice story.

Nice write-up...

Nice one...lovely...

Beautiful story but ended in a sad note, wish she never had to go like that

Lol thank you
She had to meet the waiting darkness to save the world. She died a heroin

Waoh, lovely writing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69