Victorian Escape: Introduction

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

"They are the weirdos, the freaks, the creeps all the things you are not. Evil wretches, vagabonds, vagrants, tramps, beggars, drifters, and derelicts! The only thing they can ever hope to provide to the world is something to laugh and mock. I don't want you to be influenced by such an atmosphere, its only for the low class for a lower-class event. "

9 years ago and my fathers words are still fresh in my memory. A rigid, pompous, new money railroad industrialist, I would say I remember him fondly but truthfully I don't. I was a child with practically the whole of Liverpool at my finger tips.

Private estate that always smelled of cinnamon and vanilla, blue breasted swallows who'd sing a song just as the sun would rise, soft cotton sheets, a proper private education. You get the picture. And yet, I wasn't happy. I mean I wasn't UN happy, but it was almost as though I was stuck in a perpetual cycle of mundanity on a course that was not my own to be repeated every day until I died. I suppose it could have been worse, I could have been born as an orphan, or have to work in the factories so I'm not complaining.

Needless to say I wasn't the type to listen to my father on every matter, I mean really what are the odds he would find out if just sneaked out? It was only for one night. Just to see a show and put my curiosity to rest.

Sword swallowers, fire breathers, glass walkers, contortionists, acrobats, and some freaks like the half man? I had to see it!

But as they say "Curiosity killed the cat"...

Hello everyone! This is just the introduction for my short story series if your interested in what happens let me know down below! Part one comes out tomorrow!

Credit to eva8 on Flicker for this photo

Sort:  

Well done and welcome to steemit. There are lots of fiction contests check it out. The secret here is preserverance and finding a community that’s supportive.🐓

Thank you so much for the advise, yeah I'm excited to start posting but gosh at the beginning it feels like you'll never be noticed you know?

@gmuxx has a lot of writing contests. Actually there are a lot on here. You might check him out if you’re interested. 🐓

Thank you for the advise i will check them out!

Yes, I remember, wanted to give up and felt discouraged. Made a couple of good friends who believed in me when I couldnt. Persevered and things began to change, albeit slowly. Hang in there🐓

This great seeing more original fiction work being posted. I'm already hooked; I'll be looking for part one, tomorrow. Welcome to steemit, @shadelz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43