What If

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

The wind snapped her hair from her shoulders which even in the pale morning light shivered with the cold. Frost rimed the railing on which she perched, young, carefree, feet dangling. Yards away a man stood, he spoke softly, cajolingly. She raised her head tucking a strand of her behind her ear and answered.

'Please, don't worry for me. I will explain as best as I can.'

'Have you ever looked up and marvelled at the stars twinkling in the dark? What majesty that led to their creation. Do you believe that they are suns like ours, uncountable and unknowable distances away?.'

'Look around you. Does this make sense? Have you never dreamed of something more? Something wonderful? I have. I know from my dreams that this is not it.'

'When you catch sight of something in the corner of your eye only to turn and it is not there. Think about someone only for them to contact you the very same day when you haven't heard of them for years'

'This life is a transition. Not all of us can see it for what it is. I have been chosen, not all are. My eyes opened to the reality that lies behind this one. What we have here is a proving ground if you will. The pain, the torment that is experienced in this life, even the joys are illusory. When I cast myself free I will be in fact breaking the narrative that defines a life. I know this from dreams as real to me as you are now. The journey from here to there is a transition in which I will transcend what we think of as this life'

'You look troubled, I understand. I will remember your kindness and hope that I can communicate with you and perhaps even convince you to join me. I will be on a different plane of consciousness then and I do not know that such communication will be possible. You will see. This will be as much a turning point for you as it is for me.'

She paused to pull stray strands of hair from her mouth and spoke louder to be heard over the strengthening wind.

'Such communication is possible. You have to wait and watch. The signs will be subtle but they will be there. Look for that which is not ordinary and think. When you see you will know.'

The man reached a hand out. 'Wait, please.'

'I cannot wait, it is time. You have no idea how happy I...'

'But wait,' he interrupted, almost frantic, reaching a hand out. 'Have you ever thought... What if... What if you are wrong?'

The look she returned brimmed with kindness and a knowing beyond her teenage years.

She smiled almost shyly then tipped forward into the empty grey air, tumbling to the distant rocks below.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm flattered.. I think :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31