Sort:  

As far as I understand the foster care system - yes.

DX some people I can't even.

Guess I have to be glad the sprinkling of foster carers I know are the good/normal sort, gives me hope that that particular system does what it's supposed to do sometimes.

My young friend who lives with my husband and I aged out of the system. Psychologically, he could seriously use the help of the galactic therapists. He was bounced from one place to another, often badly treated. I knew him when he was only 13 and crying after a heavy beating. But financially I couldn't get him to me or take care of him, I was beyond strapped. But at least talking to him helped.

Now, he's getting help, slowly, and while he has issues, I was able to get him into college and helping him realize he's not worthless and that he is a good person. But there are a lot of very bad foster families out there. Too many, to be honest. There are a lot of good ones as well. But, sadly, there's a lot of kids who just... "slip through the cracks in the system" as it were. :'( And it should not be that way.

That's...that's so sad my heart hurts :< glad your young friend has you, that makes a lot of difference!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77