A Winter's Tale - Part 3

in #fiction5 years ago

The summer thought briefly for a moment, then spoke, " We were born into time on opposite sides of the star. It was intended by the Lord of Seasons - you know of these words that pass through my lips. I know not of your intentions, but no matter - you must leave at once!" "So it was I who was born into the simple days where the nights are long?" said the winter.

"Fate has determined that I can never aspire flowers or daisies to cover the fields - they would capitulate and die at my touch. Life has bestowed this upon me and I lament to you my dear summer, and you hear not my heart or my words." With that the winter looked towards the summer in anger and he was gone. And the winds that had blown each successive season into place began to stir again. Presently, the great star reached out its rays and angular photons conducive to winter were found in the orchard where summer had raised her clover.

The winter had lain in the troubles of his own perceived abandonment, he did not rest during his nights; in this period of darkness he was naked and his refuge was in self- complacency. Winter had eviscerated all reason, his heart was full of capriciousness, all he thought of was the first night of his season, the wind and the snow, the black ice of the opulent golden rivers, the frozen honey dew, the orchard, and his quarterly control of the star.

Sort:  

Very nice! This has been a really awesome series. I like the way you paint a picture of the story with your words. It is very impactful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79