Old Man SamsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

I have been in a pretty good mood in my new phase of life. There is more time on my hands but with more things to do.  I thought being a single parent was time consuming!  But there comes a moment when you stop and think. Wow!  I better enjoy the time I have now.  Because, time goes forward not backward.  

Being an empty nester, I am now ready to consider the opposite sex again.  A big move on my part!

I actually signed up for a dating site! I did it after so many years of inactivity.   Me. The person that puts the ‘in' in insular lifestyle. I could have made butter with the amount of time it took.  Most people probably would have taken 15 minutes. It was about 2 hours for me.  A part of me was asking, “What are you doing? Do you really want this?” I put myself on autopilot and continued. I completed the free posting and looked at the prospects.

Oh, my…

...Some looked sleazy.

...Some looked like derelicts...I happen to know first hand about this.

...Some were just... scary!

By the end of perusing the profiles, I was actually hoping that no one would contact me.

And I was told it's best to be on 3 or more sites.

What?!

I could barely do this one time...how was I going to do it times 3? Plus.

At least I kept the promise to myself to actually complete the task.  To focus more on my personal life.  No matter the amount of time it took.

I did know I had procrastinated about signing up for this first site.  I knew also it would be the same  with the next one. It took a lot of emotional energy to do this!

At least I kept the promise to myself to actually complete the task.  To focus more on my personal life.  No matter the amount of time it took.

I did know I had procrastinated about signing up for this first site.  I knew also it would be the same  with the next one. It took a lot of emotional energy to do this!

After finishing up I pushed it all aside and went for a swim.  

I really do enjoy being active again! In the pool I could just focus on enjoying the feel of the water and not my lack of an intimate social life. That was until "Old Man Sam" brought his ‘blue eyed’ swag self and sat down to enjoy some sun.

Somehow, he always showed up when I swam.

I don't know why I made up that name for him.  But it fit.  He was 60 to maybe 65.  He once said he was blonde...but you couldn't tell with all the silver hair he had.

He had also said he went to the gym frequently.

You couldn't tell that as well.

His rather rotund belly bulge was there for everyone to see.
I can do belly love...but the er... circumference!...  

Don’t think about it...

I'm not 18 thankfully.  The experiences I had then I wouldn't want now.  What about the body?  Strangelyb enough I'm not to sure anout that.  I am more curvy.  But I love it!  Some would consider me fat, there are others that would say I’m thick-fine.  No matter I enjoy the skin I'm in.  I am however somewhat vertically challenged so “Old Man Sam” was a good deal taller than me.  Maybe, around 6 inches.

So, that was a lot of man.

He waved, I waved back enthusiastically and continued to swim.

At least he had most of his teeth. I thought.

At my age that was a plus!

Laughing at my own dull wit, I completed my set of laps and exited the pool to sit on the chair and dry off with my towel.  But by that time the hot sun was beating down on the entire side.

Texas heat.

As I have said a million times...it's unforgivable.  

I knew it would take a heck of alot more melanin than what I had to beat off a bad case of burns so I looked around for a shady spot and beheld...

Oh no, the only shady spot was with "Old Man Sam".

Nooo!  I screamed mentally.

But of course I smiled my best smile as he motioned me over to his table. He's a nice guy. There's no need to be rude.

Okaaay, I slowly began my trek towards his table.

He looked at me as if to say you have nowhere to run now.  I briefly turned back towards the pool.  I guess, I thought about reentering.  But then  “Old Man Sam” caught my interest by displaying an ice cold bottle of water and his infamous bag of…

Cheetos, that he always carried.

Damn.  He’s got me.

And he knew it!

I eyed those Cheetos liked he eyed my boobs.

Something about Cheetos in the hot Texas sun...gets me every time.

I gratefully accepted the water and enjoyed my solo conversation with the bag of cheesey crunchies.

While “Old Man Sam” and his eyes conversed elsewhere.

I noted that he carried only two bags.  I asked him why.

His eyes finally met mine and he  responded in his usual jovial mood.

He said, “I noticed that you brought a bag with you to the pool a couple weeks go.  And I figured you liked them. So, I got you some.”

Wow, that was thoughtful!

I laughed and said “So, I’m not sure if you are saying I'm a cheap date or what.”

Nice smile.  Did I hit my head diving?

He chuckled while smiling devilishly.

‘It's the or what...”

We toasted with our ice cold bottles as he continued.

“...You’re a beautiful date.”

Well, damn again.

We, talked for about an hour and it was I admit an interesting conversation.

I told him that I would like to continue with my swim and excused myself from what became “our” table.

As I walked back to the edge.  I could feel that his eyes wer on another part of my anatomy.

Possibly, to give the front uppers a break.

I chuckled to myself and thought...which one of us was more alive in the seeking of companionship?

To me “Old Man Sam” was just a regular guy that wanted the attention of a woman.  

Did he want a more physical relationship at the time?

Maybe.

“Old Man Sam” was up in years.

But not dead.

And he was brave enough to go for what he wanted despite the belly bulge.

I found that intriguing.

I found him fun.

And being in the presence of his charm wasn't so much a burdensome thing.

It  made me think of what I wanted in a companion. What was really important.  What was only superficial.

And most important what was just being human.

Yes, he reminded me that there is a universe of infinite potential and possibilities. That can provide you a nice experience if you are brave enough to go for it.

I do believe my time with “Old Man Sam” was well spent!

Sort:  

So that's what I've been doing wrong; I haven't been offering Cheetos to enough ladies?

Yep. But don't forget the ice cold bottled water. I think you would get further with that when the temp is triple digits.

Congratulations @myhebrewroots! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45