Lester Chronicles 1

in #fiction6 years ago

image
Any onlooker would be surprised at the incident occurring in the Lester family home. The stereotypical clash of ideals between Mirabel and her grand mom was quite distracting. A curvy girl of fourteen,with dark colored skin and long straight brown hair stood before a woman of similar complexion well past her prime, consternation written on both faces. The object if their disagreement was a certain school,we began our story by taking a peek,for lack of a better word, into the mind of Mirabel Lester.
"I'm not going to that school" I protested loudly. "You have no option, Bella," my grandmother said. "But grandmom you know it's not suitable for me" I said, almost in tears. "Sweetie" my grandmother called me, "this is a once in a lifetime opportunity. There's no way you'll be able to get this kind of offer again. " Bella please for my sake, just go". "Oh God" I said,not willing to give up. But I loved my grandmother and didn't want to hurt her. She was already very old and if I added to her troubles,well,I'd just be driving her closer to Death's cold grasp. And you know I wouldn't ever let that happen.After a moment of deliberating and contemplating my decision.I finally said, "Fine grandmum. I will go to the school". "That's my girl" she said smiling as if she had just won the lottery. "I really hope we won't have this discussion again" she added,baring a ghost of a smile before standing up to go inside. "Gosh" I heaved and sank into the sofa.
I had been given a scholarship to study at Rocks View High but I didn't want to go to the school. It was a really good school but I knew I'd feel out of place there. The students there are just so...ugh! You definitely wouldn't want me to fill in that gap. I knew deep inside me what I was going to face once I got there but my grandmom failed to understand. I will feel so odd and left out there. I just didn't want to imagine it. It was worse than walking on a bed of thorns. Well, life for me was okay until I received this scholarship. It's not as if I even wanted it. I am from a humble background. Like that's what I know for now.
Ever since I was little, I've been living with my grandparents. I've never known who my real parents are. I'd never really bought into my grandparent's story of my parents dying in a plane crash. Their hesitation before speaking and clear distraught on their faces clued me in. The only link I had to a could-have-been future was the photo album my grandparents gave me. My "parents" were both in their mid-twenties when the "accident" had occurred. You may wonder about the extra word in inverted commas but I'll shed more light on that in a moment. I'd never truly been able to connect the images in my album with the word 'parents',my grand parents were the only ones I saw as such, after all they'd raised this little rascal. I'd tried my best looking around our family home for clues that would lead to the happenings behind their disappearance.
Guess how many clues I'd managed to uncover.
...
Zero...I'd even tried pressing my grandparents to revealing the truth but they'd remained firm in their cover story,never slipping up or letting up except for the occasional guilt I could see in their eyes.
"Guilt at what?You may ask" that's what I'd like to uncover. This is my story,that all begins in the little town called Redwood. This is the Lester Chronicles.


Hey guys.... So today I decided that it would be fiction. I didn't have enough inspiration for poems or you could just call it laziness but I'm not lazy... Trust me 😇 Feel free to drop your comments and thoughts about this piece. This is just chapter 1. More loading... Xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66912.93
ETH 3115.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78