You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Retrenchment..........is it possible to survive.

in #fiction5 years ago

A nice hearty story!

Yeah... You really feel like shit when you get laid off. Especially if you busted your butt for a company. That's how I became a contractor. In this type of working contract, you don't feel betrayed. You know ahead of time that at the end of the contract you will leave.

About 15 years ago I also experienced a bad case of a panic attack. I thought I was going to die, as the symptoms reminded a heart attack. But a friend of mine is a massage therapist of the extra class. He pulled me out of those attacks. Then, as strange as it might seem, a lady psychic was able to extinguish it completely, working over skype. I even wrote a story about it somewhere in the past. It was quite an intrigue as she told me something about my past life. Not sure whether to believe it or not, but the fact remains a fact. After her sessions, I never experienced panic attacks anymore. :)

Sort:  

You have used the word 'EXTRA', in an unusual place. It works!
It makes me think of extraordinary and I'm always on the look out for something different. Good shot!
May I ask what sort of contracts and are you still working full time or a happily retired person like me.............enjoying her life enormously.

I have had a mild panic attack and the feeling that your heart is bouncing about in the confines of its (rib) cage is AWFUL.
As for the psychic I do believe that some are able to connect spiritually with the 'other' side. It makes me nervous because I think it is possibly the 'dark' side.
I like to play it safe with God the Father/Son and Holy Ghost. I prefer my ghosts, pure. No panic attacks lurk with that back up team I find.
I have drawn my own 'logo' to draw the reader's attention to the fact that the post is about the English language and having fun with words.
Please be open and honest and when I get it up today or tomorrow, let me know what you think?
I'm also curious to know what your first language is?
I first though it might be Spanish but now think it is Russian?!
(Are you amused by my curiousity.....I do know it killed the cat!

I am a programmer and am semi-retired. By "semi" I mean that I still am working on several of the projects, especially where certain problems occur and they need a "data plumber" to fix them. ))) The projects that I usually involved in lately are the ones when the company is moving from the old project to a new one and need to migrate its database from one format to another one. I also work with my older son on some of his Internet-based projects, which is pulling some stock and crypto data from public sites and running some statistical calculations with that data.

I am not sure about the "dark side". The way she explained to me it works is she accesses my aura and sees where my colors are deficient. Then she was getting inside my aura and with my help was trying to fix it - in essence was trying to balance my energy.

I am not "religious" in a sense of being affiliated with one particular denomination. But I have a concept of the higher power, which I came to realize doing one interesting mathematical derivation.

You are not at all having an overzealous curiosity. My first language is indeed Russian and I am currently participating with the site that is similar to Steemit and is called Golos (which means Voice) My knowledge of Spanish is in its embryo state. Even though it would be easier to learn it as it is closer to Russian in spelling paradigm, emotional expression, and semantic model. But I simply don't have the necessity to do it. I'd better improve my English. )))

Sure I will tell you my opinion for what its worth on your logo.

Cheers

I've never met someone who is Russian - I am honoured to know you and to exchange 'chats' with you especially as I find maths (though utterly and truthfully captivating) my weakest point.
But I am an all time learner and enjoy reading about what fascinates other people. As passionate as I am about WORDS so I am able to read with wonder and awe about the work you do in the field of 'data plumbing'.
Plumbing is an excellent metaphor and has my mind working overtime imagining leaking water and such all over the place. A messy complicated job I'm sure.
My Johannesburg daughter and her husband have a business in the IT world and I am amazed by the language they talk regarding their work that is as foreign to me as Russian is.

The logo for my Word blog was drawn up by me BUT when I photographed it it came onto my blog upside down! I tried my limited tricks but couldn't win!
I used the 'word hand' taken from Pixabay.
I will have to rethink.
Give me something to chew on as I take my daily walk on the beach!

Upside down? It looked fine to me. Do you want the fingers to point downward?

Never met a Russian. That is surprising. Anyhow, I don't understand why here any honor is involved. I thought they are all over the World.

I actually was born in the Soviet Union and lived there for 23 years and then immigrated to the US.

I did meet people from South Africa. Of all other accents, their accent sounds the most pleasant on my ear.

I love the sound of the French language. They might talk about the most trivial things and it sounds like they discuss a painting of Monet. ))) But in English their accent sounds awful.

The Russian accent also doesn't sound very pleasant.

Here's for instance how mine sounds


)))

You sound like a bear who has been hibernating for the winter! Not unpleasant to me.
Yes French sounds very beautiful and mysterious! Discussing famous artworks - exactly.
I didn't explain myself properly.
I drew my own logo. then I photographed it and when I placed it onto my steemit blog it came out upside down!
Hence I used the Word hand that I found on Pixabay.

How did you copy that hand image I used onto your reply? I am as you have probably worked out, technically challenged.

)) I was sick at the time.

Got it. If you want you are welcome to send it to me. I will flip it and send it back to you. My email is [email protected] or post it here in comments.

Great - thank you............but you don't understand that I am really challenged :0 I need step by step instructions.......
like this..........
right click on image,
etc.
Can you do that for me please?

To rotate the image you need appropriate software, for example, Adobe Photoshop. The operation itself is very simple.

That's why all you need to do now is to paste the link to your image into your response, the same way as you pasting other images into your posts.

Now, if you don't have the link then I need to know where do you have your image. Is it somewhere on your computer or on your phone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82