The Wishmonger, New Fiction for Steemit! Part One

in #fiction7 years ago

This novel is the first I ever completed, almost ten years ago. I've had it up in a few places, but didn't promote it well. It is not currently available anywhere else! So, I'm updating the content a bit and presenting it here in it's new format for the first time ever! I hope you'll enjoy it. I'll be adding a new part at least five days a week, so follow me to get my posts in your feed!

Roger Pine is a fairly typical thirteen year old boy. He thinks about two things, video games, and girls. But, when his father announces a big move, to his childhood home town, everything changes. With no decent internet, Roger's days of online gaming and video streaming are over. He's going to hate it.

That's only the beginning. In the town of Wishful, wishes have been outlawed, and that's just the tip of the dark iceberg threatening to rip the town apart. When Roger starts having dreams about the town, he finds himself in the middle of a mystery only he can solve and the clock is ticking.

It's a battle to the finish against a mysterious man in black, his army of Wish Monitors and his plot to demolish Wishful to settle a life long grudge. Can Roger untangle his family tree and uncover the secret to the town's founder's treasure in time to save Wishful, or is that just wishful thinking?

PROLOGUE

His footsteps echoed down the long stone tunnel, he was moving quickly now. The oppressive darkness through which he slid so confidently would have been enough to stop most intruders. He was in his element. His blinded eyes were no hindrance here.

He made his way quickly to the large open chamber in the center of the complex maze of tunnels. His heart leaped as he felt the presence, it was here! The sound of rushing water mingled with the labored breathing of the beast.

He fell to his knees and felt the scaly talons rest on his shoulders, “What news do you bring?” The voice of the monster had taken some getting used to. He had come to realize that he felt as much as heard the words.

His voice quivered“It is almost ready. The last pieces are falling into place.”

“Your reward will come soon, my friend, very soon.” The scaly cold voice, warmed him some how, with the news.

With a rush of wind he found himself alone. He smiled in the darkness thinking how sweet his revenge would be, to plunge the whole of this place into darkness, a darkness deeper than anything his blind eyes had forced upon-him.

Sort:  

great fiction..i like your story writing..thanks for sharing this post..best of luck..

I appreciate the comment. Glad you're enjoying it. I'm looking forward to digging into this one again.

good story @markrmorrisjr. Thanks for sharing.

An intriguing premise. I'm interested to see where it goes. Is it a young adult book?

All of the main characters are young teens. The theme is pretty universal though, it's allegorical in a way. So, the answer is yes, and no.

Your stories often have more than one level of meaning. That's probably one of the reasons they're so satisfying.

Love the prologue to this new story. That the one seeking revenge is blind, and bringing what I'm assuming is a dragon - the one with the power to influence events - into the beginning is intriguing and provides new and unusual plot twists, I'm sure. I'm looking forward to seeing where you take us with this story.

Thanks, this one is one of my favorites. I'm looking forward to getting under the hood of a solid story and polishing it up with what I've learned over the past decade. Should be interesting. I'm wondering how much it will change.

Just found this and started reading. An exciting beginning!

Hey, thanks, sorry, I didn't see this comment sooner.

Had to come back to the first chapter to catch up... now I need more time to read!
@jeejee

I have another piece waiting to go up, but #dolphinschool is taking up all my physical bandwidth at the moment! LOL If you're bored, scroll back through my blog, I've shared a ton of fiction.

Would you say that your fiction is teen appropriate? My 14 yr old daughter loves reading and she had read every single Rick Riordan novel, Victoria Aveyard novels, Sara J Maas, Cassondra Clare.... we have stacks of books upon books and she reads them several times over. She is @bookmarked here on Steemit

The wishmonger definitely is. That's kind of a loaded question though. Lol depends on the teen and the family. My others have mild language and mild adult situations, but no overt sex. Some violence. It would probably not even be og 13 just pg

That’s why I referenced some other authors...
because~ shamefully bowing head ~I am not a big reader when it comes to novels. I’m more of that person whom you described inside of that 8 second ride.... squirrel

HA! Not a problem, well, I post very short chapters here and I try to cut in the action to keep it interesting. You might like it.

these posts older then the 7 days, I am not upvoting asI interpret you wont get a payout after the 7 days,, is that correct?
If you would not mind to try this idea.
I read 1st of this story were the boys are going into the hall of records. the boys found Celia Pine name on the orphanage box's. On the page you have kinks to next and previous, the next does not highlight for a link, (probably as you have not input that yet) However, Knowing the title of the next chapter, If you add a link to the next chapter now, and create the link later, It should still work when the link is created.
Suggesting to try this, It may come in useful at a future time. More so on newer works, where you might not get a chapter completed before the 7 day period to edit is up?
It makes sense in my head, Hope it is understandable view.

Yeah, that's a bummer part of the whole damn thing. But, you are correct.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31