The OrdersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

The Order

It was the fourth hour of Sun's Ascent, but the sun had already begun to creep above the grassy hillside overlooking Sanctuary. Songbirds were singing to the sound of gently swaying trees that surrounded the ruin. The morning mist started to dissipate into the sky, leaving behind a thin coat of slick wetness on the grass and a thick fog. Sanctuary is the home of an ancient order of assassins, there was no official name for the order but those blessed enough to have seen them simply referred to them as 'Shadows' or 'Phantoms'. Though they were very much human. Within Sanctuary everything was silent, save for the crackle of dying braziers and the occasional clink of cutlery hitting ceramic plates.

"Dawn ascends," called a woman's voice from the archway leading into Ignavius' bedchamber. Ignavius was awake, he had been for some time now, but made no effort to rise out of the warmth of his bed.
"Dawn Ascends," repeated the woman, now making her way into the room, "And I require your expertise."
Ignavius rolled a black bear pelt from his body as he rose out of bed. He picked up the pelt and wrapped it around his shoulders, letting it hang to his thighs, his back was facing the woman he figured was none other than Amana Lydia.
"How might I assist, Lady Amana?" Ignavius said with a hoarse voice as he walked towards a dark varnished desk beside his bed. He opened a draw and retrieved a wax candle. Amana was now standing an arms length behind him, holding out a match she lit on the way over. He thanked her and lit the candle, still holding it to illuminate the pair. When Amana spoke, Ignavius listened. He always did. Her voice was like delicate honey dripping down a golden rose. She spoke with a soft English accent but she pronounced every word with purpose as clear as it was true, and Ignavius knew her well enough to know she only spoke with purpose. He could listen to her speak for hours, perhaps even days if given the chance, and she knew.
"Some clothes, perhaps?" She said playfully, noticing Ignavius was nude beneath the pelt.
"Perhaps less," he responded, taking a long moment to eye her attire. She wore the crimson robe favoured by many of the Order's women, which covered her entire body and left Iganvius' imagination to wonder what lay beneath. Her auburn hair was kept in a tight knot that reached the length of her back. Amana chuckled with a half smile.
"Now is certainly not the time for that. There is a matter I need to clear up and you will need to be there to oversee." She spoke quietly now, just short of a whisper.
Ignavius was getting dressed, choosing a black as night cloak with a hood and crimson trousers made from a flexible leather from his dresser. The pair begun to exit the bedchamber and into a hallway that seemed to stretch forever, every four paces Ignavius would stop to light a wall scone with his candle, each time illuminating the darkness in front of them.
"Oversee?" He asked, admittedly confused by her words.
"Yes. Oversee. You know what that means, right?" She paused for a heartbeat and continued, watching Ignavius pause before each scone.
"I must meet with Alexus at Sun's Respite," she said as if Ignavius was to know exactly what she was talking about.
"The new initiate that's been eyeing you?" He asked, now lighting the last torch.
"Yes. I received a contract that required two, so I took him with me, to blood him. The daft bastard tried groping me while I slept instead of keeping watch. We were spotted shortly after by the guardsmen patrolling the forest around the village. They didn't put up much of a fight but one got away with a good look at Alexus. So now I need to fix it," she explained.
"Yes, you do. How could you allow that to happen? You should have told me sooner, Amana. Now you must bring the night upon him." Ignavius was annoyed at this point, there wasn't many things that annoyed him but a mistake like this was definitely one. The hallway was now completely void of darkness, and runic scripts could be seen in great numbers along each wall.
"You will kill him for me," Amana said bluntly, reaching forward to open a wooden door.
"No," he replied.
"Please Ignavius, you and I both know I will be banished if he dies by my hand," she plead as her hand left the door handle and wrapped Ignavius' right hand in hers. He sighed, mostly because he knew she could sway him to do most things he would rather not. He let go of her hand and raised an open palm to her cheek, and she stared back at him with bright emerald, unblinking eyes.
"Please."
"You're truly a sinister woman, my dear. Give me time to prepare and I will see this matter sorted," he said reluctantly. Amana could sense the unease in his voice. Amana leaned forward, pressing her cheek against the side of his face and whispered.
"I will make it worth your time." She pressed her lips against his cheek to thank him then turned to leave through the door.

Several hours later Ignavius ran into Alexus on his way to the Armoury, they exchanged polite nods and the customary greeting of the Order.
"Dawn Ascends."
Ignavius continued walking but Alexus turned and hurried back to him.
"Ignavius, right?" He asked, extending his hand out for Ignavius to take. Ignavius did not.
"Name's Alexus, I'm new around here but yours is a name I've heard a lot. They say you're the real noble type, ironic for a death dealer," he mused to Ignavius in an attempt to make a good impression.
"Then you surely know I have no time for idle chit chat. Now if you'll excuse me, I must see the quartermaster," Ignavius replied bluntly and turned to walk away.
Alexus was stunned for a moment but quickly regained his stride next to Ignavius.
"I'll walk with you.
"If you must."
Ignavius' dark eyes were shrouded by his hood, which darkened his face. The pair walked side by side for several minutes, Alexus struggled to keep pace with Ignavius' long strides, and his robe did little to help, every now and then he would have to lift the robe from his feet to keep from tripping over.
"So the Armoury, eh? What takes you there?" Alexus asked.
"I am to retrieve my blade. The hilt broke while I was on my previous contract. I'll be needing it shortly," Ignavius answered, keeping his eyes faced straight ahead.
"Another contract?"
"A personal matter, more or less."
"I see. Well I hope it goes to plan for you. Nothing worse than unexpected troubles." Alexus's voice drifted slightly as he finished his sentence.
"I spoke to Amana earlier today. She tells me the two of you had unexpected trouble," Ignavius said plainly as if the bitterness in his voice couldn't be heard.
"Amana. Now there's a woman. She and I went on a contract the other night, she was practically all over me. Well, until we were spotted." Alexus smiled, envisioning Amana before him. He made a sound not far from a moan. The complete lack of acknowledgement Alexus had of his failure annoyed Ignavius. It would be one of those days, he thought to himself as he peered at Alexus, who had his head bowed like a scared child.
"Forgive me, Sir. It won't happen again."
"I can assure you, after today, it most defiantly will not," Ignavius said with a slight growl then turned left for the Armoury, leaving Alexus to wonder what he meant by that comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45