The Dirtbag Vernacular [Original Novel]

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

TheDV.png


ENTRY 14

On the thirtieth of the month Kurt finally gives in and says I can have the room. I guess it’s because the drummer, Duke, has become evasive about moving and rent is due on the fifth.

I move into the Masonic Street apartment which is just down the hill a few steps from famous Haight Street. I despise the life just outside the apartment’s front door, but can’t help but feel like I’ve entered a completely different world as I enter the elegant, spotless lobby. I climb up unworn burgundy carpeted stairs. Stained dark wood molding reaches half way up a rich green wall. I feel like I’m in a nineteenth century home lived in by some fictional character. It’s pretty nice, a stark contrast to what is going on outside. My bedroom is huge, with a large window looking out onto the jokers below. Except for the bathroom and kitchen, the flooring consists of hardwood throughout the place. Orange will have a large comfortable apartment to run around in and fight with his new enemies: Khat and Gris Gris, Kurt’s felines, but won’t be able to go outside.


Photo by Hoffacurse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66