'The Expanse' season 1 (2015)

in #fiction6 years ago

'The Expanse' season 1 (2015).

Plot:

Two hundred years in the future, in a fully colonized Solar System, police detective Josephus Miller (Thomas Jane), born on Ceres in the asteroid belt, is assigned to find a missing young woman, Juliette "Julie" Andromeda Mao (Florence Faivre). James Holden (Steven Strait), the Executive Officer of the ice hauler Canterbury, is involved in a tragic incident that threatens to destabilize the uneasy peace between Earth, Mars and the Belt. On Earth, Chrisjen Avasarala (Shohreh Aghdashloo), a United Nations executive, works to prevent war between Earth and Mars by any means necessary. Soon, the three find out that the missing woman and the ice hauler's fate are part of a vast conspiracy that threatens all humanity.

My review:

I originally watched the first 2 episodes and 5 or so minutes of the third when first aired and I couldn't stomach the show any longer then that. T.V. series usually have hooks in the first two episodes to keep viewers interested but 'The Expanse' had none. I decided this week to go revisit season 1 and give it a another chance.

This show is just terrible. Nearly all the characters are wooden and have no character development whats so ever. None of the characters are likeable or stand out as individuals. Dialogue is weak, so drawn out and hardly explains anything what's happening. The story is so slow paced that it takes 13 episodes to actually deliver anything interesting to the plot. I've not read the books but if this show is anything like the litriture I don't think I'll even bother. I don't have an issues with slow paced stories and I don't need action to entertain me but I do need a an engaging script with characters I can care about. The script in this show is no better then GCSE level standard of our drama classes here in the UK.

I'll finish on a possitive note and I will praise the show for its hard Sci-fi approach. The show is visually beautiful, ship designs are interesting, combat is very satisfying, great looking weapons, awesome looking ship's and fighter crafts.

I would like to know what you guys think? 🤔

IMG_0922.JPG

IMG_0923.JPG

IMG_0924.JPG

IMG_0925.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70