The Blurred Lines Between Love & Hate. (A short Story)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

A union was about to take place upon the bank's of a loch. A marriage of an unlikely pair. 

The pair  had been rivals for many millennium and through the centuries had committed many dreadful deeds against one another, in their lust for power. However it is said there is a fine line between love and hate and the passed year the more their paths had crossed, the more blurred that line had become. So much so, they now found themselves at a point in time considering the most binding pact of all; that of marriage. 

Of course they convinced themselves that it was for the good of their kingdom, when it was proposed. By combining their power base they would be stronger. However now they sat side my side upon the grass, it felt right, it felt heart felt; in short maybe there was more to this then power, maybe it was love.

He looked down at the diamond ring on her finger. "I don't think you realised what a large leap you made when she put that on your hand Helena, without a question." He met her gaze and his eyes were soft and emotional. "I believed you were telling me the truth. I believed you were for once being honest, and so..." 

He looked around them. "This is me being honest the only way I can. For I can't do this in front of anyone else." He kissed her lips and then whispered in her ear. "I love you Helena, always have always will. But that is just for your ears only." He broke away and pointed to the contract. "Let us sign our part and enjoy a private honesty." 

Once the pact were signed, they sat side by side on the grassy slope and he whispered his promise to her and she whispered hers to him. All was perfect and beautiful, until the solid gold band was paused at her finger tip. At that point the rainbow of reds of the setting sky, suddenly turn to a storm blackness and the earth began to shake. 

Helena looked scared now at Marcus and he looked round confused by the sudden change in atmosphere. Some force unknown to them both took hold of them and they found themselves frozen in the act. Around them a chanting began to raise up above the earth quaking rumbled of the earth and the thundering clouds above them.  The grass began to burn forming a perfect ring around them. 

"What have you done?" Marcus hissed at Helena. 

Tears of fear welled in her eyes. "I did nothing, Marcus, I swear. I came here this evening hoping only for an end to your hatred towards me and try and build your love again." She whispered " And that what I found." 

Her eyes flicked scared. "This feels like a binding." 

Marcus closed his eyes in disbelief. "Yes it feels like a sealing, a very powerful sealing." He looked down at the ring as it lay half way up her finger. "They have finally captured us, and they used our love to do it."  She tried to pull her finger away, but slowly the ring moved further up her finger as the chant continued. "Who is powerful enough to do this." She shouts over the chanting and thundering of the elements. "Only our brother..." Marcus replies.

Then their older brothers voice silenced the Mayhem around them. "You both signed a contract, your collateral was your immortality. You promised me your loyalty, your service and above all you love. For that I gave you a part of my world, a stake in my kingdom. Yet here you are going behind my back, doing the one thing you promise you would never do. Love each other more then you love me."

The ring reached it's distinction and as it did Marcus' and Helena's eyes met in a realisation of what was about to happen. 

Lucifer laughed. "Oh it was inevitable you would break our pact, I am impressed you stayed true so long to it. But that love was enough to break from father's fold, I knew one day it would break our contract." 

His laughter shook the earth. "Enjoy mortality my siblings and I thank you for farming my lands so well."  At that point a fire burnt within both their chest, a pain that was so painful and intense it knocked them both backwards to the ground out cold.

"Oh how the souls burn my sibling, how I look forward till you mortal bodies release them back to me, and with them will come your power."  



Sort:  

upvoted resteemed

That was intriguing!

I will continue it tomorrow ;)

I love it . Keep writing !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44