BLACK

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

race--g_5296.png

The only bulb in my living room had burned out few minutes before, and the TV illuminated the small space.

I was sitting on a chair opposite the TV, and my eyes were fixed on my mobile phone waiting for my boyfriend's reply. It had been over five minutes since I received his last text, "I'll knock on your door in a minute." He lived on the next street, and he hardly skipped coming over after work.

So, I sent him a text.

Me: Where are you?

He replied a few seconds later.

Him: On your street talking with a new friend.
Me: Okay.

I dropped my mobile phone beside me and looked at the muted TV. What I saw on the screen made me grab the remote control off the center table in a second, and I unmuted the TV.

He had struck again. A text popped up at the bottom of the screen: "One of the ladies escaped through the back door, but one wasn't lucky." My heart skipped.

Behind the reporter, a police car sped past as she talked about cases linked to him in the past six months. All his victims were in their twenties and most were women.

"Okay, we have someone here who actually saw him. Her house is opposite the victim's house," the reporter said and motioned for someone to come over.

I increased the volume as the thirtyish lady started speaking. "I heard someone screaming, so I peeped out my window and saw Lisa running down the street."

"Who's Lisa," the reporter asked.

"The one who escaped," the lady said. "Moments later, I saw him. I knew it was Black! He was wearing a floor-length black robe and a sharply pointed black hat. I dialed 911 immediately."

No one knew his real name, but someone who had previously escaped his brutality disclosed that he wore a black robe. So, he was nicknamed Black.

The reporter thanked the lady; then I heard a knock on my door.

I was glad my boyfriend had arrived because I was already getting scared. I went to the door quickly and opened it without asking who was there.

A man wearing a black robe and a pointed hat was standing in front of me. I stood there for few seconds in shock before it occurred to me to shut the door. I shut it and locked it. I picked up my phone on the chair and dialed my boyfriend's number, and then I heard it ringing outside the door.

A very short story. Kindly follow me if you like fiction.

Sort:  

Whoa captivating short piece ☺

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jeffways from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34