This New House: Micro-fiction

in #fiction6 years ago

I'm in Krakow for Steemfest, but I can't miss my opportunity to get my 50-word story in. I have a bit of time before running off to Karaoke night. (No I will not be performing!)

This New House


Source: Pixabay

“What do you mean, Nora? It’s perfect!”

She walked across the glossy floor, thinking of her life before marrying Nathan. Or... had she married his money?

For a moment she was 10 again, racing down creaky wooden steps to the chime of a grandfather clock.

“This house has no soul.”



Jayna's signature



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/11/10/this-new-house-micro-fiction/

Sort:  

Great images (not the pictures). I've seen/heard many complain about that. Empty luxury that provides little if any pleasure.
Life can be so absurd.
Some would do anything to be able to get a present so that their daughters can attend a birthday party.
Other own the hotels/malls where the party is being thrown, and yet they have no peace of mind. Achievements without satisfaction.
Bodies without souls.
Don't we need one to be able to succeed?
Is that the price we have to pay?


PS. Have a great time. Take care.

Yes, good questions. Also, shouldn’t a home be a place of warmth and joy?

It should. I guess it becomes a place of wartmth and joy when it is an end in itself. Most of the time it is just a means to some other ends.

Luxurious life cannot be substitute of a happy life. Happiness depends on love, care and affection of the family. Every house is empty till it is not filled with love.

Thank you for reading my story and sharing your thoughts, @akdx!

First of all, I'm glad you are finally there in Krakow for Steemfest. Good luck and have a nice and nurturing time! ☻

Second, your story makes me remember the chapter "Intimate Immensity" in Bachellar's _The Poetics of Space: "Shelter lures me...", says at some point along the chapter. A house is a womb; once you enter it, you feel like you're in that place you were supposed to come back some day. Your soul resonates with the house, and then we feel "it."

Thanks for the nice read! ♥

That is lovely. Thank you very much for sharing that thought, @marlyncabrera! I once lived in a house that felt sterile to me. It was brand new and a bit ostentatious. But we got the home for a song, and we were just starting our family so it was very nice to buy a new home that didn't need any work. But it never felt like home to me. We moved from there to an old home that feels like it has a soul. And I'm fairly certain it has its share of ghosts as well. (Fortunately the part about marrying a man for his money is not a true story!)

Hope your having a good time in Poland.

Yes, thank you, @sk43. It has been an incredible experience in so many ways. Capturing it in a blog post has defied my abilities... not to mention the available time to do so. The best part is the amazing people. There is so much heart in this community!

Um. I thought there is a soul in this house. I wouldn't mind living like this. : ))

Ha ha! Well it has very clean lines and a bright, fresh look. Really, there is nothing wrong with it. This is a designer home after all! 😊

But for the character, it is somewhat sterile. It represents her shallow marriage and reminds her that she came from a richer, more fulfilling past.

Thank you for reading and commenting on my story, @yurche! Good to see you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67633.45
ETH 3775.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70