Challenge #02549-F359: Misunderstanding

in #fiction4 years ago

canstockphoto7820367.jpg

"Why does everyone think I'm a Vampire whenever I tell anyone I transform into a bat?! There are over 1,200 species of bat and only 3 of them drink blood! I'd rather drink a cricket and fruit smoothie then get whatever Hematological disease you've got!" -- AmberFox

"So... you're undead?"

"What? No! I turn into a bat at will."

"But... vampire bat, right?" said Allie. "So if vampire bat, then vampire, then undead? It's the way it goes."

"No... there's over a thousand species of bat and only three of them drink blood. It's statistically unlikely that I'd even be a vampire bat." Chiro argued. "I'm more into a cricket smoothie with a side of nectar than -euw- blood..."

Allie blinked, apparently considering this. "So... you're a vegan vampire?"

There's a certain feeling behind watching someone miss the point so hard that it went into orbit and almost actually hit the target all over again. Chiro fought that in an effort to not scream in frustration. "Vegans don't eat bugs, dear."

"Vegetarian vampire?"

"Pretty certain most vegetarians don't eat bugs either."

"Uuuhhh... what's the name of the kind of vampire that eats bugs and nectar?"

"There are no such vampires. I'm not a vampire. I just. Turn into. A bat."

Allie attempted to process this again. "Isn't a bat vampire just the same as a vampire bat?"

Chiro took a deep breath. "Okay. Let's start from the beginning."

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / fouroaks]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [69 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

Camazotz?

I am not nearly as patient as Chiro XD

I'm fairly certain 90% of the Earth is not as patient as Chiro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99