Challenge #02535-F345: One... Giant LeapsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

canstockphoto13620586.jpg

A human has fallen very much in love with another deathworlder. These deathworlders are only similar to humans in that they walk bipedal and have a human-ish shape to their faces, but that's about it. The human had been working aboard ship with the being for almost a year, the contract stated the human would be there for another four years, and they were trying to find out how to get the being to become interested in more than just .... well... friendship. -- DaniAndShali

The relationship had been a source of amusement amongst the crew of the Seek and Find. Even the second-densest member of the crew caught on to the idea that Human Dar found Grumesh cute within the first month of awkward flirting.

The densest member of Seek and Find's crew was, of course, Grumesh. Overtures small and large were interpreted as being such a good friend. It certainly didn't help that Dar was one of those Humans who were easily embarrassed and therefore fumbled every opportunity for closeness.

Watching Human Dar defeated regularly in the lists of love was, unfortunately, also kind of sad. Case in point, it was lunchtime. The crew watched with a mixture of morbid fascination and amused pity as Dar loaded up their food tray and got some extras of Grumesh's favourite treats. Again. Deathworlders always appreciated others who brought them nice food. As Dar approached Grumesh, they began turning the characteristic ruddier hues of extreme mortification.

Grumesh barely looked up from her rare meats. "Hey, Dar."

"I sneaked you some extra fatworms," offered Dar. "Extra glossy, just like you like 'em. With cheese sauce." The offering was already in a separate bowl. The fact that it was a shiny, pretty bowl flew right past Grumesh. The fact that the decorations were in Grumesh's favourite colours completely passed her by.

"Thank you," Grumesh cooed. "You're always so kind to me. I'm so glad we're friends. Look. I got you your favourite, too."

It was in a separate bowl, and featured some of Dar's favourite things as decorative painting. Dar turned a little redder and squirmed. "Aaawww..." they cooed. And, because they were a fool, they added, "I like you too."

Five onlookers were whispering, "Say the right words, damnit..."

"We are such good friends," said Grumesh, unaware of the anguish this caused in both her companion and those watching them. "We should go kill something together."

Dar kept grasping for straws. "Camping together on a hunt for fresh meat? That'd be nice. We could sit around a campfire and watch the stars... chew the fat..."

One of the observers, stressed out by the non-committal nature of the ongoing will-they-won't-they situation, stood up from their perch and shouted, "JUST KISS!" Thus causing Dar to cringe into a ball of flaming-hot mortification, and those surrounding the heckler to drag that heckler out of the room. Possibly for some frustration-venting attacks or yelling.

"It might do all some good for us to go away," speculated Grumesh as she enjoyed her fatworms. "Though I am certain we've all pack-bonded, I can't help but notice that tensions are higher the longer we are both on board."

"A little holiday would do everyone some good. I can bring my guitar. Sing you that song I've been practicing."

"I like you too," said Grumesh.

Dar... snapped. "I know, you keep saying, but do you like-like like me?"

Grumesh stared. So did the rest of the breathless crew remaining in the mess hall. This could very well be a historic moment. "I have not heard the term... like like like. Is this the Human use of duplicate emphasis?"

"For the Powers' sake, YES," shouted another heckler, who was also dragged from the room.

By now, Dar could double as an incendiary device. "What ze said. Yes. It is duplicate emphasis. Because... because... I like-like like you! A lot."

"This is... beyond very good friends?"

"Beyond... all of it." Dar lunged, planting an unauthorised kiss on Grumesh's face. Mouth to mouth. Historically the most intimate of Human contact that was still allowable in public.

"Oh," said Grumesh. "Oh..." a smile spread across that saurian face, displaying possibly too many sharp, pointy teeth. "Oh, okay..."

They held hands for the rest of the lunch break. Both of them were smiling like fools.

[Image (c) Can Stock Photo / DeBuskPhotography]

If you like my stories, please Check out my blog and Follow me. Or share them with your friends!

Send me a prompt [63 remaining prompts!]

Support me on Patreon / Buy me a Ko-fi

Check out the other stuff I'm selling

Sort:  

Everyone else on the ship is now incredibly relieved? XD

There... might have been a ship-wide party.

I have to admit I was giggling through-out that entire story! I also have to admit I had the theme song from the Soap Opera "Days of our lives" running through my head during it! LOL

...I, too, am more or less certain that this has been the basis of some form of soap opera.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59013.49
ETH 2516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48